Seven years and so much has changed. (9/11)


In many ways, it is difficult to believe that it has been 7 years since 9/11 and in others. the time has seemed like an eternity. I remember well the night it happened. I was watching CNN and talking on the phone to a  friend who was en route with his son to Queensland. A news flash came through that  what was thought to be a light aircraft had crashed into the WTC and as the cameras were focusing on the building, billowing with thick smoke, a passenger jet appeared out of nowhere, circled the building and flew directly into the WTC. It was surreal and seemed to be in slow motion; could this really be happening? The friend to whom I was speaking called back to ask if I had heard anything about a plane crash in NYC and I could barely speak. Eventually , I got it out while at the same time wondering what else was going to happen. Was there another plane? Was NYC under attack, etc. I sat glued to the TV for hours, wondering what was going to happen globally and the ramifications this would surely have. I felt anxious about the carnage, the terror on the  people’s faces as they fled the area. Then I saw the building collapse and the atomic like plume of smoke and dust overshadow the city.Terror could be heard in the voices of the CNN reporters as no one knew what was going on, then news began to filter through of acts of aviation terrorism in other parts of the US. No one will ever forget where they were when it happened.

Seven years and so much has changed.That year gave me the best and the worst times of my life, so I will never forget it. Personally,it was an extremely traumatic time.  Nothing was ever the same after 2001.

2 thoughts on “Seven years and so much has changed. (9/11)

Leave a Reply

