We discussed those “what if” and “if only” times.


The BBQ yesterday was a great success. It was a lovely way to spend the day and finished up late yesterday afternoon.Everyone seemed to have a good time and plenty of fun too.

Later in the day and friend and I got into a deep conversation about life, the future and all those significant times that are blazoned into our memories- good and not so good. We discussed those “what if” and “if only” times which I admit, I experience quite frequently. Although the memories of particular events can be painful and uncomfortable to recollect, I have no regrets about what I have done, maybe what I could have done but didn’t and the many opportunities I have let pass me by. I feel my choices have been based on all the available information at that time and in the long run, any hesitancy  or reluctance to follow a new direction, has been validated. My friend seems to be overwhelmed by regrets about her life choices but no one can change the past; it’s history and if we are lucky we learn something from those experiences and move on.Sadly, she allows herself to be influenced by the opinions of others and appearances You have one life to lead and if you are not hurting anyone, who cares what anyone thinks? I have to admit, I enjoy conversations such as that one yesterday. It makes me look deep into myself for answers to the hard questions , which can only be a good thing

One thought on “We discussed those “what if” and “if only” times.

  1. Sounds like a fun time.I think self examination is good for everyone.
    I enjoy reading your blog each day.

Leave a Reply

