The Clean Out and Its Meaning.


Today I have been ruthless around the home, sorting out superfluous items in preparation for the Holidays and memories of this post, written in 2003, came flooding back to me.

For the past 2-3 weeks I have been doing a clean out, sort through and throw away. I feel at harmony with minimalism so for me, this is a joy.All out of date clothing and shoes have been dispatched to St. Vinnies, as have dreadful floral sheets (from another lifetime)other assorted embarrassing pieces and what is useful has been passed on the Prue(my daughter). The files have been purged and relegated to archive boxes, labelled in order of importance and packed away.

Going through my personal papers and cards, I reflected on time past, relatives who have died, friends who are an important part of my life and so-called friends in whom I invested too much time and far too many emotions. That said, my time is free and my emotions are genuine. I lay my soul bare for those I love, put it out there, say what I mean and mean what I say.I am comfortable with me and my friends can be assured that when I promise to do something I do. Once a very wise woman told me”Never start something you cannot finish” and I have endeavoured to follow her advice throughout my life.

As I sorted through I remember good times, laughs, hours of conversation and convivial arguments as well as the bad times.I have had my share of broken promises, tears and declarations that were nothing more than lip service but these make me appreciate the good times, the real times and have faith in myself as a person who can walk tall in the knowledge that I have principles and I am not ashamed of them. Family and friends may find me direct but none will ever question my loyalty.

Memories of my grandmother and others who had meant so much to me welled up inside me. I cried for hat seemed like hours, very unusual for me, one who was brought up to show ones true emotions was a weakness(something I have since learned was unhealthy and a load of crock)At that time I was beginning to wonder if the clean out was such a good idea! It was, I have a clear vision of my life and where I am going, The path ahead may be bumpy for a while but I know my destination with be worth the effort.Photos were placed away for those who want them and my memories were packed away until another time.

Do something for yourself and have a good old fashioned throw out. When you simplify your surroundings, you will simplify you!

Much has changed since that post, I still cherish my family and friends but I tend not to look back any longer, only forward and into the future, full ofย  curiosity and anticipation. ๐Ÿ™‚

6 thoughts on “The Clean Out and Its Meaning.

  1. ouch I am not those things, I try to be honest and I hate to hurt anybody. I love looking through old pics and letters. ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

