The content is normally silly,inappropriate and they clog your in box.


No doubt everyone who reads what I am going to write will have an opinion about it! Forwards, yes forwards in all their forms. I am so over them.Well meaning friends who want to include you in the latest jokes going around or those terrible ” send to * people or you will experience bad luck” emails. First and foremost, I consider it so rude and an intrusion on ones privacy, when your email address is plastered over the header of the email for all to see and secondly, the content is normally silly, inappropriate and they clog your in box.

I have tried the subtle approach with people who send them to me but when that has failed I have had to be almost rude in my directness. Getting the message across can be difficult and the only alternative sometimes is to just block someone completely.

Thanks for all the responses to yesterday’s blog. They are appreciated 🙂

14 thoughts on “The content is normally silly,inappropriate and they clog your in box.

  1. I’m with you, Maureen. Those FW:’s seem to arrive in my inbox without much thought behind them. Some senders have also sent me some truly unpleasant stuff, so much so that I just quickly hit the delete key when I see FW:’s from them.

  2. HI Pastor Dan,
    Thank you for taking the time to comment of today’s post. I agree with you, some of it is truly unpleasant and at times, just plain stupid!
    Best wishes
    Maureen 🙂

  3. Hi Maureen,

    Do What I usually does.

    If the email ask you to forward to 20 persons or …..

    I usually forward back the message to the person who sent me 20 times.

    Usually, the sender will drop you from his/her forward lost completely.

    Cheers!

    Jaded

  4. Hi Lee,
    What a fabulous idea. Thank you so much. I had not thought of doing that but I love it!!!!!!!!!!
    Best wishes
    Maureen 🙂

  5. I hate forwards! Since most of them are from friends I follow two principles: a) Call that person and ask him/her not to. and b) Not forward them myself.
    I also like Jaded’s comment. Need to try that out if my principles don’t work.

  6. Hi MaureenJ. Thank you so much for listing 2cob on your “Must Visits.” I’ve been “away” for a bit b/c of my ligament injury to my left knee–it’s healing, but sitting at the PC for long hurts.

    Whenever I visit your site, I find that I could comment on ANY and ALL of your posts, so I generally go back to the my most recent, as I’m obviously doing now, and have a say:

    1) My best to your daughter; times are SO hard all over; I received an email from someone who used to work for me years ago, with her resume attached asking me to pass it a long…and she works for a major law firm in NYC (that was my “previous life for 16 years – 3 of those biggy’s – and I “dropped out” about 3 years ago and like life better, but have learned much about just getting by).
    2) I know what you’re saying about forwarded “funnies,” but here’s one twist — and maybe it’s because I have such great friends and relatives, but when I get those (I know I’m lucky), they are always really good ones. I show the same respect and only send real treasures. None, of course, of these pass this on OR ELSE!!!
    IF, and ONLY IF, the treasures are passed on, it is a form of saying ‘Hi, I haven’t been in touch in a while, but you’re still in my thoughts.’ ONLY the goods ones.

    Oh, I fear I’m off target — know I am – cause that’s not what you were saying…but, alas … I’ve been out of the loop the last week, so just take this comment as my way of saying you’ve been in my thougths. 🙂

    –Beeha, http://2cob.wordpress.com

  7. Hi Beeha,
    I am so sorry to hear that you have sustained an injury to your knee. Look after yourself and take some time to allow your body to repair.
    Thank you so much for all the kind things you wrote in your comment.You are very welcome about about listing http://2cob.wordpress.com
    in my Must Visits. I am honoured to have you there!
    Look after yourself and you will be dancing again soon
    Best wishes
    Maureen:)

  8. Maureen,
    On those forwards, I usually delete them, but I have a few friends who enjoy receiving the ones that include the beautiful pictures. There should be a protocol for forwards: always delete the e-mail addresses of the previous senders as a courtesy. If you cannot take the time to do that, you shouldn’t be forwarding anything. I don’t want my e-mail address going out to fifty other people that I don’t know and will never know.

    On a funny aside though, one woman who saw my address from an e-mail forward and ready my response, liked it so much that she actually wrote me about it. She hadn’t found anyone else besides herself who was a self-described curmudgeon.

    Other than that, they are clutter and almost always a pain, but as one of my friends pointed out to me, it’s the only way that we know that one of our old friends is still around (unfortunately).

  9. Hi Poietes,
    Thank you so much for commenting. I adore your last line; FWDS are the only way you know your old friends are still around. LOL
    Best wishes
    Maureen 🙂
    P.S. I sent you an email to the address as shown but it has been returned.

  10. i just ignore them for the most part and hit delete…

    the most obnoxious are the ones where you’re supposed to forward to 10 more people etc. i usually just hit reply to sender or if i’m feeling feisty i hit reply to all…

    thanks for coming round to my blog and commenting and sending emails as well! very thoughtful!

Leave a Reply

