Note to self: Loosen up and don’t be so formal!!!!!


I have just got in from being out with Prue. Poor thing, she is so ill with nausea right now that she had to go to the Dr for medication to relieve it and ended up getting a shot, which he said would help immediately. It did thank goodness, then we went to get a drink,(water for her  as she cannot tolerate anything else) and a strong black coffee for me.

It was lovely to sit , chat and watch the world go by. We got to chatting about various things and I mentioned to Prue a couple of blog sites she may find interesting when she said to me” Mama, you really have to loosen up when you write, because you come across as being formal, almost to the point of being arrogant and that’s not you at all” Arrogant, formal? I am definitely neither of those! Maybe my writing style is influenced by having written so many formal reports and case file notes?

Note to self: Loosen up and don’t be so formal!!!!!

6 thoughts on “Note to self: Loosen up and don’t be so formal!!!!!

  1. Maureen,
    My children accuse me of the same thing, but don’t listen. You write as you think as you speak. Too few people write well any more. There is no arrogance in your voice, just a lovely, well-spoken connectedness that is missing in a generation that speaks in icons and letters. I have no idea how old your daughter is, of course, but I still correct my daughter who is in her 20’s and am certain that I will continue to do so. As a lover of language, I, and you, must perpetuate its usage in its most perfect form. ~ Lita

  2. Hi Lita,
    Thank you for those re assuring words. Like you, my daughter is in her 20’s (26) and although she is a brilliant writer, she too uses the current vernacular, so popular with young people today. I am glad I do not come across as pompous or arrogant because really, I am very laid back LOL.
    Best wishes
    Maureen

  3. One of the most difficult things I have had to do is become comfortable with who I am. If part of that is writing in a more formal tone, then so be it.

    Keep being yourself!

  4. Hi Cameron,
    Thanks for your kind comment. I agree with you. I am who I am and I am comfortable with that. Formality and all. Hahaha
    Best wishes
    Maureen 🙂

Leave a Reply

