Why not embrace life fully and enjoy being a sensual and fulfilled woman :)


I heard a heartwarming interview on radio this morning . The interviewee was a 75 year old woman, intelligent and well spoken, with the most wicked sense of humour. She spoke of her life and the many paths it has taken which were all very interesting but it was her openness about her relationships with men that made my ears prick up.This woman had raised a family alone , having been widowed very early in her marriage. She worked  2 jobs to ensure her children did not go  without  and put each through university. Later , she  attended uni and she went on the get a PhD at age 70.

She spoke so frankly abut age being a state of mind and how she still enjoys an active sexual relationship with a young man of 72! Good for her. Too often women reach 40, 50 or 60 and are regarded as being past it. Admittedly, some do their own cause no good at all,paying minimal attention to their appearance and resigning themselves to middle age or have partners who have taken them for granted and depleted them of their self esteem and confidence as a woman. Life expectancy now is well into the 80’s , so  why not embrace  life fully and enjoy being a sensual and fulfilled woman. This wonderful woman made my day 🙂

Thank you for all the comments and emails I received overnight. It took a while but I have replied to everyone. lol

10 thoughts on “Why not embrace life fully and enjoy being a sensual and fulfilled woman :)

  1. Wonderful story !! I have seen young women in their 20’s who have lost their sense of fun and youthful exuberance and that is such a shame. I hope when I’m 70 I can still be as active and have the positive outlook on life i do now.
    Mal

  2. It’s me again, Maureen. I’m here because Alphainventions says I bumped you off again.

    But I read your post here today and I couldn’t agree more about age being a state of mind etc etc !

    I have this real problem about it.

    I am sixty years old and a full time single parent of a ten year old boy – that is I am the only person looking after him because his mother is no longer with us due to terrible mental illness.

    I still think I am somewhere about in my twenties or thirties and get all sorts of nasty shocks when things point out to me that I am the sort of age that I am – or rather everyone else perceives me to be !

    Now my boy is ten I am desperate to get back to work as all the money has run out. But is is a horrible shock not the be able to just walk into employment as I could until I was thirty five years old.

    I am well qualified for a number of different types of job and well experienced in my professional field in the media.

    But the media is a young person’s game, so no one will even contemplate giving me jobs as an employee in the area I used to work in. It is pretty much the same in most other areas too.

    So it has become obvious to me the only way I am going to be employed is either being a ‘lollypop’ man holding up a sign in the middle of the road outside a school stopping traffic so the kids can cross the road safely, or starting my own business.

    As being a ‘Lollypop’ man pays only the minimum wage of about £5 per hour for about half a days work a week iot is a no brainer.

    Starting up my own business is the only way to go.

    How pathetic that just because as you get older you find all the doors slamming in your face and no one employs you anymore. Ridiculous.

    I am fitter, more sparky and much, much more experienced and therefore useful than most people in their twenties – particularly those stupid sort of twits like the young idiots making loads of money in the great rip off banking industry.

    It’s a joke really, isn’t it ?

  3. Hi Nick,
    Thanks for taking the time to comment. Yes, age is a state of mind and unfortunately, many employers fail to appreciate the experience and wisdom that only comes with age. Don’t sell yourself short and undertake work which you find boring and unexciting. Go after your goal(a business). You appear to have the determination and talent to make that happen. Good luck, you are a terrific role model for your son 🙂

  4. Hi Maureen,

    It’s funny, but until just a few years ago, I honestly could not remember how old I was. I had to keep asking my husband, which goes to show that age is a state of mind . . .

    I still don’t know what I want to be when I grow up, and my role model is May Sarton, who didn’t publish her first book until she was 56. As for bikinis, geez, who cares any more. I really didn’t feel like a real woman until I hit 40, and I didn’t start looking like a woman until after I had my second child, as in having curves.

    Women, real women, realize that magazines live and die by photoshop programs, and that no one looks like a red carpet image. I try to remember that, and my husband reminds me whenever I complain that I look like a “sausage” — tee hee

  5. Thanks Poietes for your insightful comments. Like you, I did not have feminine curves until I was pregnant with my daughter. I enjoyed feeling like a real woman but after she was born I lost my curves. Now I am content with myself, my age, shape and dare I say, wrinkles. Each line tells a story!
    Have a great week end 🙂

  6. Hi, beeha, here, logged in as 2cob (oops).

    Well, let’s see, bullies AND aging and life, and life and aging AND bullies, and aging AND life and bullies, and aging AND life and bullies

    AND Lions and Tigers and Bears, oh my……..
    how cruel and crazy and unfair and nonsensical it all can be

    I know of which you speak

    As my father who I will FOREVER miss used to say:

    “You have to take the bitter with the bitter”

    …and

    –I’ve learned– reach for the beauty when it rises

    –beeha, http://2cob.wordpress.com

    …….)Glad to hear dinner was great)

  7. Once again, thank you for your comments Beeha. I enjoy them so much.
    Dinner was great and I do mean great. We ate and chatted, ate and laughed, then ate some more.One thing about Vietnamese food is that you never feel weighed down the way you can with some cuisines.
    🙂

Leave a Reply

