Bullies are like that. They will continue their intimidatory behaviour because they are never challenged!!!


Last night I was reading through the week end papers and came across  an article about Christmas shopping etiquette. Most of it was just plain common sense and courtesy but on reflection, it had more to do with the lack of manners one see in most situations every day. I am a big stickler for manners, courtesy and etiquette which unfortunately, seem to be considered old fashioned and unnecessary by some individuals. Here is an excerpt from the article, taken from the Herald Sun 13/12/08.

Reports of shoppers behaving badly include:

STEALING goods when they can’t get served quickly.

RAMMING other customers’ trolleys out of their way in supermarket aisles.

COUNTING groceries in trolleys and booting shoppers out of express lanes for having too many items.

ABUSING staff for being too slow or incompetent .

ABANDONING trolleys near checkouts because of long queues.

SWEARING at customers who stop for friendly chats with sales staff.

Australian Retailers Association executive director Richard Evans advised parents to leave youngsters at home when possible, especially in peak hours, to reduce the risk of abuse from aggressive and impatient fellow shoppers.

“By all means take the kids to see Santa, but don’t take them shopping,” Mr Evans said. “Some people snap at the sight of a mother with baby on hip, pram in one hand and trolley in the other holding up the queue”.

I have witnessed parents with toddlers shopping, when it was obvious that the children were tired and in need of a sleep. When the children become teary or misbehave the parents become irate at the children.For heaven’s sake, they need to take a good look at themselves and take it in turns, looking after the children while the other shops or better still work out a reciprocal system with friends or relatives to care for each others’ children.

Personally, I have experienced not shopping rage but been on the receiving end of parking rage.If there is anything to raise the tempers of some it is failing to secure a parking spot. Once I was stationary waiting for a car to vacate a park when I guy pulled up behind me and began swearing at me, saying he saw the park from 2 rows away and it should have been his. Normally, I would have capitulated to avoid any trouble but this time I stood my ground, was polite and refused to move. He had expected that he would have intimidated me sufficiently enough surrender the parking spot to him and seemed lost for  words when I stood my ground.Bullies are like that. They will continue their intimidatory behaviour because they are never challenged!!! There is no excuse for poor manners and lack of courtesy.

I am looking forward to dinner with Prue tonight. I have no idea where we are going as she is selecting the restaurant, so it will be a surprise 🙂

10 thoughts on “Bullies are like that. They will continue their intimidatory behaviour because they are never challenged!!!

  1. Maureen,
    It never ceases to amaze me how people tend to lose their senses during the holidays because they believe that their errands or questions or whatever are more important than anyone else’s.

    If you get the chance, read my post on what happened to the poor man who was stampeded by the shoppers at Wal Mart the day after Thanksgiving. It literally made me ill. I hate to shop any more.

    Lita

  2. Thanks Poietes.
    I just read your post and I remember seeing it on the news when it occurred. I shake my head and wonder what gets into people sometimes, I really do. Also congratulations on your terrific about teens, sex. AIDS. 🙂

  3. Hi Maureen, good for you standing up to that guy in the carpark, I detest that bullying behaviour myself. Although with the unpredictability of some people’s anger management I would have been nervous he could have become violent.

    Hope you have a lovely evening with Prue, take care.
    Mal

  4. Maureen:

    I thought it was only Americans that did not behave properly. I don’t understand what has happened to our culture. Being polite means being considerate.

    I enjoy reading your blog. You and I have very similar views on things.

    Best,
    Lee Klein
    A polite American

  5. Maureen,

    Thanks for the cudos on the teen sex post. Boy that was a rude awakening. Glad you had a wonderful dinner.

    I do agree with Mal about the unpredictability of some people. That’s especially true here in the states. That’s why I stopped fighting with people over parking spaces.

  6. Thanks so much Lee for your comment. I am pleased that we both have open minds and share similar views about life. It can be pretty lonely out there at times 🙂

  7. Thanks Poietes,
    Your post is recommended reading for all!
    Due to my profession, safety is always first and foremost with me but that day, in the words of Peter Finch ( Network) , I wasn’t taking it any longer!A rather stupid impulsive thing to do(and something I would not contemplate doing again) which thankfully did not escalate into an incident.
    Maureen 🙂

  8. Thanks Lee for your comment,
    Polite and genteel behaviour seems to go by the wayside at this time of the year for some.
    I wish you a very happy festive season and a healthy New Year.
    Maureen 🙂

Leave a Reply

