It was a lovely evening spent with my beautiful daughter. What more could a mother want? :)


It was a very good week end. Steady rain fell from Friday until yesterday providing a full month’s worth of rain in less than 48 hours, which was great due to the depleting reserves of water in the storage dams. I completed some work I commenced last week on a course I will be facilitating and my daughter and I went out for dinner last night.

It was lovely for the two of us to go out together without the entourage of friends (although we love them dearly)that usually accompany us  when we go out , or come to the house for large gatherings of family and friends. I thinks it’s great that family and friends enjoy being around me and my home but there are times when it is just nice to spend some time alone with immediate family! I know they will understand what I am saying.

I left here quite late in the afternoon to spend some time with Prue at her home and chatted with her and her housemates for a while before we left for dinner. When we set out, we were still undecided about where we wanted to go and ended up going to a favourite Vietnamese restaurant in an neighbouring suburb, which is always busy and patronised mainly by local Vietnamese. Authentic food  is served and is in no way Anglosised, the way it often is at some establishments to accommodate the tastes of Westerners. LOL. Fortunately, when we arrived the restaurant was only at 75% capacity but within a few minutes there were several groups waiting outside for a table. It’s the type of restaurant that has a buzz about it and as the night goes on the buzz gets louder. Certainly not  the type of place you would go for an intimate dinner for two!The service is quick, polite and the food is unbelievable.

We selected a few different courses and took our time enjoying each while catching up and sharing a few laughs. Of course we ate far too much and admitted to each other that we really didn’t need that last course which tipped us over the edge Ha ha. It was a lovely evening spent with my beautiful daughter. What more could a mother want? 🙂

Thanks to everyone who took the time to comment or send emails over the week end. I enjoy receiving each and every one!

10 thoughts on “It was a lovely evening spent with my beautiful daughter. What more could a mother want? :)

  1. Sounds scrumptious Maureen, however, can’t say I have ever eaten Vietnamese food, is it spicy? I love spicy food like Thai and Malaysian, the more zing the better.
    Cheers for now
    Mal 🙂

  2. Thanks Mal for your comment,
    I am certain that if you enjoy the cuisines mentioned you will adore Vietnamese. Seek a restaurant out and enjoy!
    🙂

  3. Hey Maureen thanks for popping by my site, was nice to see you to see you had been to visit.

    Have a fabulous xmas and enjoy santa..he’s such a fun guy to have visit once a year.

    The cheerful white bearded pot bellied red suited old boy singing ho ho ho is nowhere to be seen in my neck of the woods.. its all donuts, candles and stories about the miracle of the oil.

    Considering arranging myself a santa next year… just for the good feeling.. 🙂

    mysticmiss
    http://www.lovingtelaviv.wordpress.com

  4. …nothing more (could a mother want)…except health and happiness…which an evening such as yours with Pru certainly promotes … so good to hear.

    Vietnamese food? I was so lucky while in Paris years ago and a dear friend of mine sent me to a dear friend of hers whose family owned the same.

    We sat down course after course, eating with their family and were served all the “must haves” that evening. Mmmmmmmmmmm Delicious…in so many ways….

    –beeha, http://2cob.wordpress.com

  5. Thanks Beeha,
    I am fortunate to have a close relationship with my daughter and feel for those parents who do not have that joy.
    Stop with the talk about the Vietnamese food, you are making me hungry. Ha ha
    Best wishes
    Maureen

  6. Absolutely!!!!!!! As I do as well feel for those parents who do not have that joy.

    I, too, am blessed as are U: Twice!!!!

    Close with my Son and my Daughter, who are just under 14 months apart and approaching their 22nd and 21st birthdays, respectively.

    Ah…………….there ArE joys of motherhood as there are of life.

    best always to U MaureenJ

    –beeha, http://2cob.wordpress.com

    p.s. my son just came home from college last night: home for 12 days…yippeeeeeeeee!

  7. Hi Beeha,
    Indeed, you are blessed. How wonderful for you, having your son home for 12 days.I hope you and your family have a terrific time over the Holidays!
    Best wishes
    Maureen

Leave a Reply

