I decided some time ago that I would never censor myself , so the best option is to remain silent about some of my inner thoughts and feelings.


Have you ever wanted to put everything that’s in your heart and on your mind into words, without holding back in any way? I am faced with the dilemma today. I could write, taking the feelings of others’ into consideration or make a half- hearted attempt and censor myself due to the ramifications that would surely follow but what would that achieve and I would be untrue to myself and others.None of what I want to write is malicious or defamatory, just in case you were wondering, but when it may adversely affect others , it is best left unsaid. I decided some time ago that I would never censor myself , so the best option is to remain silent about some of my inner thoughts and feelings.

Thoughts of Christmas Day and the meal are foremost on my mind today, as I must order seafood and a few specialty items in advance.I must have changed the menu 5 times due to the changeable weather we have been experiencing. Now the forecast is for warmer weather so we may get to dine alfresco(as originally planned) and  have a casual buffet affair. I hope so, as it is not a day for formality or clock watching. It is a day to relax with friends and family, sharing food and  great company. 🙂

6 thoughts on “I decided some time ago that I would never censor myself , so the best option is to remain silent about some of my inner thoughts and feelings.

  1. Hi Maureen, isn’t remaining silent an act of censorship in itself, isn’t holding it in creating stress for yourself. Wouldn’t it be better to seek out the individuals privately and express your feelings so as to alleviate any stress upon yourself and not have the issues perpetuate any further. I often struggle with the discomfort of whether or not to express myself in a given situation, but then, I also try to remove myself from negativity and adverse situations too. Tough one. Aside from your dilemma, have fun, and Merry Christmas to you and yours.
    Cheers Mal 🙂

  2. Hi Mal,
    Thanks for your comment. I refuse to censor myself so best not say anything rather than a watered down version of the truth.So many reasons have influenced my decision, confidentiality being one. It is not a typical situation where I can seek out individuals and solve any situation, so you are right , it is a dilemma which I must deal with alone.
    Thank you for your kind Christmas Wishes and I wish you all the very best for a happy and fun filled Christmas too.
    Best wishes
    Maureen

  3. Hello Maureen,
    While discretion may be the better part of valor, I find that it always leave a bitter taste in my mouth because I am not being true to myself. Of course, I am the wrong one to comment on this because as a mother, I too, choose to remain silent at times, which is, as Mal pointed out, a form of censorship.

    This silence eventually eats at me, and causes a kind of wearing away in bad ways that works its way to the surface and bares its ugly head in unexpected ways. But of course, that is me. You may be, and I expect that you are, long suffering.

    I hope that whatever is bothering you does not ruin your Christmas dinner. It would be wonderful to dine al fresco here, especially since we still do not have the dining room table put together . . .
    Happy Christmas to you.

  4. Thanks Poietes for you comment,
    Unfortunately, I have no option other than discretion and confidentiality.There is no way that this will be an impediment on me ,my family or friends over Christmas.
    I do hope you and your family have a wonderful Christmas 🙂

Leave a Reply

