My best also goes out to Cat & Mouse, who has been absent for quite some time. Have a terrific Christmas and a healthy and happy New Year. You are not forgotten. :)


In a few hours time, the shopping centres will close, the retail madness will abate (until the post-Christmas sales on Boxing Day) and thoughts will turn to the religious aspect of the season(be it Hanukkah or Christmas) gift wrapping and preparing for the festive meal tomorrow.It is a time to break bread with family and friends and it should be a joyful time. A celebration of everything we have in abundance and we do, even in these gloomy financial times we are indeed fortunate and should share that good fortune, wherever possible with someone who will be alone or whose predicament means they will not celebrate the Holidays at all. That’s my own philosophy and not meant to sound righteous or ‘preachy’ but something I feel strongly about and what better way to do it than to share a meal, no matter how humble or elaborate it may be!

I want to wish everyone Happy Festive Season, especially the wonderful friends I have made through this blog. You know who you are !

My best also goes out to Cat & Mouse, who has been absent for quite some time. Have a terrific Christmas and a healthy and happy New Year. You are not forgotten. πŸ™‚

6 thoughts on “My best also goes out to Cat & Mouse, who has been absent for quite some time. Have a terrific Christmas and a healthy and happy New Year. You are not forgotten. :)

  1. Maureen,
    I can’t believe I am the first to comment on your latest post. Your popularity as shot past mine and leaving me choking on your dust. And your Christmaz spirit I think is miles above mine (again today I found myself moaning about a certain publisher). I did however step out of my gloom long enough to transform the top of harlequinsongs last night into a Winter and Christmas celebration. Four videos of kids singing carols and Xmas songs and wintry scenes in the header and sidebar.
    Please do stop in a say hello to my songbirds if you get a chance.

    Thanks for your continuing lessons in giving, and of sharing the abundance which others may not have, or if having may not remember to be grateful for.

    James

  2. Hi James and compliments of the season to you!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    Thank you for your kind words. I am going to check out your site for sure as I am rather partial to a good carol.
    Best wishes
    Maureen

  3. Enjoy your warm, toasty Christmas. Here in Southern California — I live in Santa Barbara–it is never downright cold. But we’re having some chilly nights lately. Winter is thankfully short here and by early March the rainy season is usually over and you can begin planting the most fragile flowers again.

    Most of my family still lives in the frozen north of New England. They have recently endured a barrage of ice and snow storms that knocked out the power for as long as a week. One of the worst ice storms in 50 years by the sounds of it.

    So I shan’t complain about the awful 39 degree F (about 4 Centigrade) nights in Barbyville.

    Have a Merry and Safe Season, James

  4. Thank you James for your well wishes. I never knew you were English! It has been bitterly cold in England.
    I hope you enjoy the festive season and keep warm there in beautiful Santa Barbara πŸ™‚

  5. Maureen,

    “New” England is the name of the region of the northeast US, north and east of New York and bordering Canada. The winters in all parts of New England are far colder and harsher than those in England. The climate is closer to that of Germany or Scandanavia.

    In southern New England you have Connecticut, Rhode Island, and Massachusetts. The northern states are Vermont, New Hampshire, and Maine. Maine is enormous and mostly forest with a rocky coast. Famous part-time Maine residents have included the poet Longfellow and the painter Andrew Wyeth. Stephen King has lived virtually his whole life there. -J.

  6. Hi James,
    Sorry of course it is. I am not with it today.
    I have an antique lamp from Boston, so I know the area well. I think I need a cup of tea and a sit down hahahaha
    M

Leave a Reply

