Christmas Day here was a celebration of family, friends, lots of laughter, silliness and a lunch that lasted until early evening.


Christmas Day here was a celebration of family, friends, lots of laughter, silliness and a lunch that lasted until early evening. We had a brilliant day which was very relaxed, so much so we did not commence the meal itself until 3pm. Before that we listened to music,chatted, ate nuts and a variety of other nibbles prepared by Prue, which were delicious(as was the lovely spinach salad she also prepared).

Daniel, my brother was unable to make it due to work commitments but he did call during the afternoon and we had a lengthy conversation. He was disappointed he could not be with us but he is trying to organise coming down from the country for New Year. We are planning a BBQ  for New Year’s Eve  so it could really turn into  a big night if he does make it!As I have mentioned in previous entries, although I have one sister and five brothers, it is Daniel with whom I have always been very close. Even as children we were close and because he is single he has been an integral member of my own immediate family and an occasion is not an occasion without him.He was not alone yesterday, as he an aunt and cousin went to lunch before he was due to commence work. He said it was great to be waited on for a change, as being in the hospitality business himself, he seldom is afforded that luxury!

Today, I have been catching up with a few friends on the phone, something I had intended to do last night but I was so tired, I went to sleep not long after everyone went home. One call I am looking forward to is to my dear friend of more than 35 years John, who lives in Queensland. He works in the mines in Western Australia and will  be back home for a few days. We never fail to have a long telephone conversation on either Christmas night or Boxing Day and it in itself has become a tradition. We have supported each other through good times and bad, over many years  and in his case, many marriages . Ha Ha! I will call him after dinner tonight.

Other than the phone calls today, it has been very quiet here, which I do not mind at all 🙂

6 thoughts on “Christmas Day here was a celebration of family, friends, lots of laughter, silliness and a lunch that lasted until early evening.

  1. Hello Maureen,

    Happy Christmas and Boxing Day to you. It sounds as if your dinner and get together were fabulous. I’m sorry that Daniel didn’t make it, but maybe you’ll be able to do the New Year’s bbq.

    Things were hectic here. On Christmas Eve, I didn’t finish until 2:30 a.m., and Corey didn’t finish putting the table together until 5:30, but we managed to do almost everything we had planned to do. I just finished my blog, and now it’s time for a long sleep, one that I’m really looking forward to.

    Take care, Lita.

  2. Hi Lita,
    Belated Christmas wishes and Happy Boxing Day to you. Thanks for you greetings. I am so glad that you had a great day and you were able to use your table. Have a good sleep. It sounds like Corey deserves a good rest too!
    I feel like I have been hit by a truck today(and I don’t even drink) and have done very little. I just now asked D if he wanted dinner and that was met with a long moan, so I guess that means no Ha ha
    Take care
    Maureen 🙂

  3. Greetings, Maureen,
    Thank you for sharing your Christmas Day experience with the rest of us.
    And thank you, along with my other new found Australian friends, for enlightening me about Boxing Day. That is not a thing we notice much in the States, but I find myself paying attention to the day this time.
    I look forward to hearing more about your New Year’s event. I hope it goes as you wish and blessings to you and yours for 2009. –Dan

  4. Hi Dan,
    Thank you for your comment. Yes, Christmas was lovely and I am looking forward to New Year’s Eve too. I find it a reflective evening and also a time of expectation and hope for the what will be in the New Year.
    May 2009 bring you and yours love, joy, good health and endurance for all the good works you do in your community.
    Best wishes
    Maureen

Leave a Reply

