I would love to hear from others about their reflections on the past year and their resolutions for 2009.


It’s New Years Eve a time when many decide upon their New Year’s resolutions.I have not even given it a thought before this morning as I tend to be more reflective about the year that will soon be in the past.I look back on the past year and am grateful that those I care about(family and friends) are still alive, some not so well but alive nevertheless.I am extremely proud of my beautiful daughter Prue who has demonstrated that she is able to overcome adversity and ill health , to emerge a strong young woman , ready to meet the challenges of 2009.It has been a a difficult year for her and as a mother, it has been for me too.It is so hard to see your child going through rough times knowing that all you can do is be there to love and support them, not wave a magic wand and make everything right again.

I could make a long list of all the possible resolutions but I know many are impractical, impossible or nothing more than unrealistic dreams. The achievable resolutions I will make are-

Continuing to live each day as if it were my last.

Contributing more time to the community.

Taking on new challenges in my professional life.

Improving my writing skills

Letting go completely, of ghosts from the past.

Getting more ‘me’ time.

Being a better mother and friend.

Completing the house renovations.

I would love to hear from others about their reflections on the past year and their resolutions for 2009.

This year I have made some wonderful new friends too, which is fantastic. I want to wish everyone a happy and healthy New Year. May it be everything you hope for 🙂

hny5_b

4 thoughts on “I would love to hear from others about their reflections on the past year and their resolutions for 2009.

  1. My list is filled with wishes, calendar dates and things to look forward too. I have plenty of goals as a mother and student. This year I want to play more, take more leisurely walks and visit my neighborhood cafe often.

    I wish you every joy and happiness this New Year Maureen!

  2. Hi Dawn,
    Thank you for sharing your goals here. They all sound great and as an affectionado of good coffee, the neighbourhood cafe sounds wonderful!
    Best wishes to you for a Happy New Year.
    Maureen:)

Leave a Reply

