I hope the day will never come when women strip men of their glorious masculinity:)


As mentioned in my last post, I went out and enjoyed the beautiful weather here yesterday. It transpired that I did not go to the beach for coffee but to the local hardware mega store and then for a drive to buy the best bagels in Melbourne. The hardware stop off was necessary to confirm that a few incidental products were in stock( required for the building works here), so I suppose it was worth missing out on an afternoon people watching and drinking coffee.The bagels were superb, as usual.

In recent years, it is becoming more apparent to me that something is happening to men. Where once they were strong, protective and decisive, it is becoming more obvious to me(and many of both my male and female friends), that these admirable traits are disappearing. Is it political correctness, emasculation or is that they have just had enough of being the strong silent types and are more willing to concede that emotionally they are  more fragile that they have ever let on? Expressing emotions is a great thing and to be admired but divesting oneself of all decisions and allowing overbearing partners to rule the roost is a concern. There should be equality , respect and consensus but it is also re- assuring to know that at the end of the day, someone is there  to offer the loving protection of a big hug. I have always got on well with men, probably because I come from a large extended family which is primarily male and I have 5 brothers, so this obvious turn around in attitude stands out like a beacon. I hope the day will never come when women strip men of their glorious masculinity:)

4 thoughts on “I hope the day will never come when women strip men of their glorious masculinity:)

  1. Ah Maureen,
    I love being a feminist, a go-getter, a trendsetter. One of the firsts (first to get this, first to achieve that, first to do that, etc. etc.). But at the end of the day, I still want a partner to come home to who will kill the spiders for me (not the big beautiful garden spiders, just the gnarly black ones), who will carry the heavy loads for me, and who will take care of me when I am feeling pitiful. Luckily, I have one of those men who is masculine but also in touch with his nurturing side. I would never try to emasculate any man with whom I had a relationship, because then I would lose respect for both of us (does that make sense). I like a man who respects strong-minded women who can also be vulnerable and not punish them for it. I don’t think that that’s asking for too much as I like a strong man who is strong enough to be nurturing when needed.

    Lita

  2. Hi Lita,
    These are the types of men we all want that’s why it pains me when I see guys who seem almost scared to be men, or strong yet nurturing and above all kind and loving.This minority don’t seem to know who they are and that’s sad.
    Best wishes
    Maureen 🙂

  3. Hi Maureen,

    I love men, some more than others. I confess. I grew up with two brothers and I was totally a tag a long, climbing trees, catching minnows in the river and playing matchbox cars in the gravel drive. A tomboy in every sense of the word. Our father was a totally misguided male and to this day I still wonder what happened to make him ‘this way.’ He spent years drinking and womanizing … he was abusive. He described his actions as ‘Tough Love’ although it was clear he hadn’t read that book. Obvious to me, even then, he was filled with pain, hurt and anger. That was all he had to give and he wouldn’t let anyone ‘in.’

    I believe in my heart that my dad spent his life grieving a father he never had. My grandmother divorced his dad twice, he was a womanizer and alcoholic just the same. My dad was only two and he saw his father once again when he was fifteen and never again after that.

    My father couldn’t give something he did not have some could say. Am I so rambling on here … or what?!

  4. Hi Dawn,
    Thanks for sharing this honest account of your father and grandfather. I understand what you are saying because like your father, mine was a very complex man. He too, was a believer is tough love but he took it to extremes and was extremely physically violent towards my siblings and I and although he never hurt my mother physically, he psychological assaulted her (and us) but to outsiders and the community in general, he was a fine upstanding person.Like your father, he had issues with his father. Fortunately, this has in no way affected my feelings towards men and appreciate all those things that make them unique from women. Vive la difference!

Leave a Reply

