Victoria, Australia- Closed for business!!!


My recent Saturday theme of Good News Saturday is held over until next week because today the news is all bad, at least it is for Victoria , Australia!

The entire State is in the midst of an unprecedented heatwave, with the temperatures reaching as high as 48 C in some areas and bushfires are still out of control in parts of Gippsland.Yesterday, in addition to the rail system collapsing, most of the State’s electricity was turned off from approximately 18:00. Many were fortunate to have their power restored after 2 hours but the power in this area did not resume until after 02:30.

High temperatures are something we, as Australian are accustomed to experiencing, with some years hotter than others but there s no excuse for the manner in which this current State Government has allowed infrastructure to become dilapidated.This is the same Government who is urging people to relocate to Victorian in particular Melbourne, by promoting new housing estates in the outer metropolitan areas yet they have failed to develop a sustainable infrastructure plan. Our water reserves are less that 30% and restrictions have been in place for years now, the urban freeways and arterial roads cannot cope with demand, public transport is virtually non-existent in new areas, in other areas commuters are faced with on going cancellations and delays daily and the power system cannot handle current demand , much less any further demands which an additional population influx would create!

Yes, it was uncomfortable without power for several hours last night but my thoughts were of families with young children , the elderly and the infirmed. Listening to the transistor radio over night I heard several distressed elderly individuals call  in,distressed by the oppressive conditions and upset that the food in their freezers had perished and they did not have the funds to replace it. Most of us are in an identical position but the elderly pensioners and families relying on welfare support are worst affected. They struggle to meet their accommodation costs and any reserves of food are a bonus, so this current situation has hit them harder than other sectors of the community.

This Government must be held accountable. They have been in power for 10 years and they have not maintained services, failed to undertake risk assessments and have not implemented any contingency plans. Roll on election time!!!!

7 thoughts on “Victoria, Australia- Closed for business!!!

  1. Maureen, Sorry to hear about your recent difficulties with the heat wave and loss of power. I must be like your D. because I run AC when it’s 25 degrees C sometimes. And keep it on almost constantly in the summer even at night when it drops to 16 degrees by early morning. So I would suffer tremendously in the circumstances you are describing.

    I did live for a few years with out AC in an even warmer climate in San Diego, but I didn’t like it much, and I’ve pampered myself since I moved to SB.

    It’s a wonder that you can think of the others who are worse off when your suffering. I don’t think I do that. The more I suffer the less I’m concerned with others.

    James

  2. Hi James,
    Thanks for your comment. You must really feel the heat! I don’t think you would cope out here. Hope you are well 🙂
    Maureen

  3. I had heard about this on the news, but after reading your post it has become a bit more personal. I hope all are able to make it through OK. In the States, the Midwest and Northeast have been going through an extremely cold winter of late. Interesting, isn’t it, how so many weather extremes are popping up for all of us, be it heat wave or hurricane.

  4. Hi Dan,
    Thanks for your comment. Yes, it really is remiss of me not to have mentioned the extremes of cold, which are causing so much distress in the US. It does make me wonder, if the systems in place there cope with the freezing temperatures and are they well maintained? As always it is the disenfranchised individuals who suffer the most at times such as these, whether it be heat or cold.
    Best wishes
    Maureen

  5. Maureen,

    I was wondering why there was nothing from you for a while. Your infrastructure sounds as bad as ours. Some of the people over here who have lost power may not get it back until MID February, which is disgraceful. But as we have discussed, no one pays any attention until it becomes a crisis, and only then do they begin to notice.

    I am glad that you have AC and can run it sometimes, but of course, you need power for that. The weather extremes, both here and there, are going to cause weather-related deaths in the poor, elderly and disenfranchised. It’s unavoidable. But is really shouldn’t be that way. If the governments here and there kept up on the infrastructures, there would be fewer deaths, and we both know that. Fewer suicides from despair, fewer deaths from carelessness.

    The climbing statistics are really getting to me, on top of the fact that I think that I’m coming down with something. Spent all day yesterday in bed. Probably slept 18 hours. Sorry I didn’t respond to blog before this one.

    Congratulations on the job interview. Hope that turns out well. What exactly would the job be?

    I went to the link on the article. Just couldn’t read all of it. Too close to what I wrote about before . . .

    Try to stay cool. Walk around the house naked. Take care. Lita

  6. Hi Lita,
    I am sorry to hear that you are feeling under the weather. Sure you have not been waltzing around the house naked and got a chill ? Ha ha. Seriously though, take the time you need to rest and recuperate.
    Yes, the situation there and here is terrible and you are right, it is not until the you know what hits the fan that bureaucracies take any notice and act.
    Like you, the article about the recent death of the young child here was yet another example of what you discussed in your blog and I found it most distressing.
    The job will involve mainly Case Management and Advocacy, in addition to counselling etc., so I will have to wait and see how the meeting goes next week! 🙂
    Take lots of care
    Maureen

  7. No, no naked waltzing for me. The dogs would be traumatized!

    Well, I hope your meeting goes well. I’ll be thinking good thoughts for you.

    I got out of bed around 3 and wrote my GIST list, read a few comments, and went back to bed at 4:30. Just woke up again at 9. My arm is really stiff and killing me, and there is junk in my chest. I’ll be hitting the Beneflu bottle again tonight.

Leave a Reply

