Cosmetic Surgery and Ageing.


None of us relish the thought of becoming older or reaching those milestone  “0” birthdays but it’s a fact of life. Many individuals have a hard time accepting that they are no longer young, 20 or 30 somethings and try to hang on to their youth as long as possible, something I find rather sad and quite vulgar in some cases. There is nothing worse than a middle aged person( male or female) dressing like their children or even worse reverting to acting the way the may have 20 or 30 years ago.So many individuals hit 40 or 50 and go into mid life crisis, often separating from partners with whom they have spent most of their lives to embark on their own journey of personal discovery, looking for something, anything that prevents them from facing the fact that they are ageing.

I have never had an issue with my age. For me, I feel each additional year is a bonus and endeavour to live each day as if it were my last. Keeping fit and caring about my appearance has always been a priority, not to please others but because it makes me feel good. I know I no longer look the way I did in my 20’s and don’t have a problem with that but many individuals do and go to great lengths to preserve their looks or restore them to a time where they felt secure and happy with themselves.

Cosmetic procedures are booming, even in these uncertain financial times.For many, employment security is  seen as the catalyst for undergoing a procedure and for others it is seen as the panacea to all their insecurities and problems. An individual undergoing any cosmetic procedure needs to be realistic about their expectations and realise that no amount of enhancement, pumping, filling or lifting will solve their problems (or turn back their true age) and if this is understood, the benefits may be improved self confidence and a fresher appearance. Cosmetic surgery  can certainly improve one’s self esteem, something I discovered  in my early 20’s.A doctor discovered I had a malignant tumour inside my nose which required immediate surgery and it was the surgeon who suggested that since I had to have extensive, invasive work done, that I should also have my nose straightened and a bump from the bridge of my nose removed( in addition to having an hereditary Roman nose, it had also been broken in my childhood). I agreed to the cosmetic suggestion without a thought as I would not have a photo taken and was very self conscious of my appearance. My levels of self esteem rose considerably and I no longer felt as if I needed to hide when a camera appeared.

Why do I bring all this up today? Hmm.A very good friend has decided to undergo a procedure, which is wonderful  but I am concerned that she has unrealistic expectations  and will be disappointed if they are not met. I think she is courageous to even consider having it done , considering all the recent negative publicity about  operations  gone wrong.She has been considering this for some time and has decided now is the right time in her life to have it done. As a friend, of course I am being supportive and will  be there for her after her procedure to assist if required but I just hope that she is not disappointed with the results because she does have high expectations. She has a highly qualified and well respected surgeon, so I know she is in good hands but as I friend I am concerned  that everything will go well for her.She says  she is aware of the risks  and has a positive attitude. I can’t wait to see the result.  🙂

6 thoughts on “Cosmetic Surgery and Ageing.

  1. Tumor in your nose? Ouch, how horrible. At least that turned out all right and you got to have a nose job inadvertently.

    My mother has had two face lifts, surgery on her arms, and a couple of other procedures. I really don’t remember all of them. She refuses to grow old gracefully. I mean, no one says that she has to, but she is in total denial about her age, which is actually good for me. It’s made me be less willing to have work done.

    I don’t think that I ever want to have an entire life done. I’ve never liked my nose, but I would never have a nose job because it’s my nose and I’m used to it. There are only two things that I would want to do and that’s lift my 72 chins and maybe get my eyes done one day if they start to close like most Asian eyes do.

    I know that it’s a purely personal decision, and I would support any of my friends who decide to have cosmetic surgery. I’m just saying that I don’t want to be my mom.

  2. Hi Lita,
    Your mother must be a strong woman and capable of enduring some heavy duty pain. I have a very high pain threshold and having my nose done was very painful.I am with you about the eyes. Mine are starting to look half closed all the time. You look gorgeous in your photo. I think it will be a long time before you need any work done 🙂
    Maureen

  3. Thank you for the lovely compliment!

    I think that the reason my mother has had so much work done is because she isn’t strong at all. She has such poor self-esteem, and she’s really done a job on me, pretty much all of my life (ooh, the things I could tell you).

    Don’t you think poor self-esteem is directly tied to how much cosmetic surgery a person has done?

    Lita

  4. Hi Lita,
    Yes, I am sorry to say that I do think it has a lot to do with it. I also know what it’s like to endure a lifetime of parental put downs, so you are in good company 🙂
    Maureen

  5. Great article! Thank you for putting it together. Potential patients will be better served going with a service like The Patients Advantage (www.ThePatientsAdvantage.com). It’s a great way to find the best surgeons and it does not cost anything. I found them when searching for plastic surgeons. Check them out.

  6. Hi Tara,
    Thanks for stopping by and commenting. and thank you for sharing the site for potential patients to check out.
    Best wishes
    Maureen

Leave a Reply

