Too often I take for granted all the things that bring me joy, peace and a sense of security into my life.


Recently, a friend Lita,http://poietes.wordpress.com/has been writing a daily summary of Grace In Small Things , which has made me take a good look at all the good things in my life. Too often I take for granted all the  things that bring me joy, peace and a sense of security into my life. Thanks Poietes for the inspiration.

1. My family. We are not your typical family and I think that’s what makes it so special.

2. Our home, modest as it is, it is ours. No  one can ever take it from us.

3. Being debt free is a wonderful feeling.The cars, again modest and everything else we have is 100% ours.

4. Savings for a rainy day. The security of knowing  that we do have financial security if  there is not any income coming into the house.

5. Chevy, my cat. He brings me so much joy, is affectionate and is always pleased to see me.

6. Australia. I may moan about it from time to time but my issues are with the Governments, not the country itself or the people that make up this great nation.

These are but a small example of the many good things in my life. I am fortunate 🙂

4 thoughts on “Too often I take for granted all the things that bring me joy, peace and a sense of security into my life.

  1. Oh yeah! Are you going to start doing a daily GIST? You can do it. You write a daily entry anyway. This is just a small addition. I so envy you that you are 100 percent debt free. That is a wonderful feeling. At one time, I was debt-free except for the mortgage, and that felt great. Good list, Maureen.

  2. Hi Lita,
    No, this is a one off GIST. LOL Although I could easily have listed pages, these were the ones that immediately sprung to mind. I needed to write them because I do overlook just how fortunate I am and never want to take anything I have for granted.I don’t have much but what I have is mine and it is a good feeling.I have no desire to keep up with the Jones’s and although a long trip away to some exotic location would be fabulous, I am more concerned about maintaining some financial security, especially in these times. I know what it’s like to have nothing, except the clothes on my back and the thought of revisiting that time scares the hell out of me.
    Hope you are feeling a bit better today.
    Maureen 🙂

  3. Well for a one-shot, it’s a very wonderful list. Because of my tendency towards wordiness, I don’t know if I could choose just six things, knowing that I wouldn’t be posting any others. Maybe. I do know how you feel, though, about maintaining financial security. Having been without it for so long now, once we can finally start to get back on solid ground, we are going to be fiscal tightwads. We have to be.

    I spent most of today in bed again today. I think that my fibromyalgia is acting up. I just have no energy at all. Not even enough to sit at the computer. I just got up and it’s 5:15 p.m. my time. I got up early this morning for a doctor’s appointment for Eamonn, and then came home and crawled back in bed. This really sucks. I’m not getting anything done.

  4. Hi Lita,
    Sorry to heat you are feeling unwell. Rest, relax and take the time you need. The family will cope for a short time if you look after you 🙂
    Maureen

Leave a Reply

