I find myself searching for appropriate words to describe the utter devastation


For someone like me, who normally has no problem writing about anything, I  find myself searching for appropriate words to describe the utter devastation of the bush fires that have been and are still ravaging parts of the State of Victoria. The death count is at 108, which is conservative, as forensic and formal identification must be conclusive before  a death can be counted.Hundreds of individuals have suffered horrific burns and injuries, which is stretching the hospital system to its limits, while many remain en site, injured and waiting for emergency medical treatment to get through to them due to on going fires and blocked roads.Entire families have perished, towns have been razed to the ground and 1000’s have been left with nothing but the clothes they are wearing.

It is nowhere near over and the emergency services are now searching through burnt out vehicles and buildings for bodies, individuals who have either decided to stay and fight to save their homes or fled in their cars, only to be incinerated, as the  giant walls of fire engulfed them. Emergency refugee centres have been established throughout the State and both Federal and State Governments have pledged to make available immediate funding to victims, for personal items  such as clothing , medicines etc. The welfare services are providing counselling, food and anything else required in the short term, in addition to organising donations of money, clothing and food.

We, as a Nation must ensure that these unfortunate victims receive all the material and emotional support we can give. More later…

12 thoughts on “I find myself searching for appropriate words to describe the utter devastation

  1. The death count has now reached 130. And among them was the greatest man I’ll ever know.
    There are no words for the pain of the loss.
    But as a nation we must help those people who are suffering and/or dead, we must support them.
    x

  2. Hi Flick,
    My sincere condolences for your tragic loss. I know there is nothing anyone can say that will ease the pain you are feeling right now. We must, as you wrote, as a national unite and support the families of the deceased and injured.
    Take care
    Maureen

  3. Maureen,
    I am so sorry. It is heartbreaking, especially when things that are beyond human control take over; i.e., the wind, the soaring temperatures.

    I have been keeping you (a collective you) in my thoughts. Unfortunately, tragedies are the great equalizers for nations and the great binders in bringing people together for a common cause. This is when you see the goodness in people, the generosity that you never knew was there, the opening of hearts and hands, the milk of human kindness of which I just bemoaned as being lost. In situations such as these, it is never lost. You can count on it.

    Big hugs, Lita

  4. Hi Lita,
    Thank you for your words of wisdom. You are right. The Australian spirit of helping one’s mates is alive and well, now more than ever.
    Maureen

  5. Maureen,
    I am stunned and saddened to hear how devastating these fires have been. They have moved faster and been more inescapable and relentless than the fires we have experienced in the States. As tough as things are, I’m sure the rest of the world has been watching and will do what is possible to help. And if it is indeed arson that caused this, those people must be brought to justice. Take care, and chin up.

    Dan

  6. I read today about Flowerdale and how they sent most of the women and children out and then the men stayed and fought for the pub and the community hall and that says a lot to me of what it is all about…I know our homes are our castles and it costs a lot in many ways to get them but it is really the community that counts…the people in the community. I was gobsmacked to read of the young women who stayed to save their horses….I do think that there has to be a rethink of priorities in life..maybe this will be a wakeup call. But my dear Lord what a wakeup call…it comes at too high a price.

    I think we will need to rethink such things as mandatory evacuation for minors and their caregivers and the elderly…am so sickened to read of the people who were in wheelchairs or motorised chairs who did not get out. The other thing to look at is gas cylinders….so many caused the houses to explode i read on so many reports.

    Hope your brother is safe and agree with you about gung ho types…the men in my family are country based and would be like that too!

  7. Hi Magik and welcome,
    Thank you for your poignant comments. I believe the Royal Commission that is to be held, will examine all those points you mentioned(and not before time). Thanks for you kind thought about my brother Paul and at this stage we believe he is ok but still refusing to leave his property!
    I visited you site and its great! I admire anyone who is creative and talented and you are both.
    Best wishes
    Maureen 🙂

  8. Maureen,

    The duration of this event is taking its toll on people such as yourself and other ordinary citizens who feel so helpless. I do hope that your brother stays safe.

    Hugs,
    Lita

  9. Hi Lita,
    Thank you for your kind words.I think most of us who have not been directly involved are feeling a certain level of frustration, not knowing how we can help. Prue is donating blood( I can’t unfortunately) and we are putting together a parcel of good clothing that may be of use in the short term. These unfortunate people have a long hard road ahead and like most, we just want to do something, anything.
    Maureen

Leave a Reply

