Looters- those low life and opportunistic parasites!


There is so much I could write about today. Selfless acts of heroism, enormous courage, incredible sadness, stoicism and of course that unique Australian sense of humour but unfortunately it’s not about any of the former.It is about a handful of low life individuals – looters , who are going to burnt out townships, like vultures attacking a corpse and stealing anything they can get their hands on.They are a disgrace and deserve to face severe penalties when caught. How many times do we hear of this happening when a disaster occurs?

D went through Cyclone Tracey in Darwin , over 30 years ago and he said exactly the same situation occurred there and I remember reading similar reports about widespread looting after Hurricane Katrina, in New Orleans.It was also reported today, that individuals who own vacant blocks of land in some of the affected areas, are lining up with those who have lost their homes and all their worldly possessions, for relief cheques and care parcels! I just have to shake my head and wonder about humanity sometimes but I know these opportunistic parasites are in the minority!

8 thoughts on “Looters- those low life and opportunistic parasites!

  1. When I was watching the television coverage of Katrina, I was just amazed by people running out of electronics stores with giant plasma screen televisions. I would think to myself, “what a dumbass. The whole city is going under. There is no power for miles. Are you going to sleep on that TV? Are you going to eat it?”

    Looters are scumbag opportunists. If the whole world were coming to an end, there would still be people breaking into stores to get computers, televisions and gold chains. I suppose so they would look good on their way to hell where they could watch old movies and send e-mails . . . (snicker).
    Oh, I am so totally not right in the head . . .

  2. Hi Lita,
    I am with you! Hey, don’t worry about not being right in the head, you are in good company(me). Oh and get this. There is some sicko selling on Ebay, a “momento” taken from one of the burnt out sites!!!!!Do they get any lower than that?
    Maureen

  3. Dear Maureen:
    My heart goes out to the families in Australia that have suffered so much devastation. And to think that perhaps these fires could have been set by someone. I don’t understand it. God help us all.

    Lee

  4. Hi Lee,
    On behalf of those families, thank you. I am certain that they all appreciate the support and thoughts they are receiving at this terrible time. It is hard to imagine that some of the fires were deliberately lit isn’t it?
    Maureen

  5. He should be banned from e-Bay. I thought that they had regulations or standards or something that prevented weird auctions like that. How sick is that . . .

    It just shows the ultimate depravity of man: making money off other people’s sorrow. I still say that they will be counting that money on their way to hell.

  6. Hi Lita,
    Yes, they deserve to go to hell! I am pleased to report that EBay has pulled the advertisement. There is justice after all 🙂
    Maureen

  7. I thought that they probably would. Usually once they catch it, or if someone complains, they pull something like that. What a craphead, trying to profit from someone else’s distress.

    I try to comfort myself over things like that by hoping that the rule of 3 will apply: In bad things, whatever one does will be repaid three times over.

Leave a Reply

