Manners & common courtesy. They define us and our character.


I know I have posted about this several times over the years but it is something that does frustrate and annoy me. Bad manners!!!!!!!! Many readers will probably think I am terribly old fashioned and perhaps I am but I am content to wear that label proudly.

Whether it be simple courtesies  such as replying to emails, telephone calls and invitations or saying thank you when someone opens a door for you, they define us and our character. Mobile phones are such a wonderful piece of technology and I would not be without mine but for some individuals it is an obsession. They never turn them to silent in cinemas, theatres or in meetings  and when they do receive a call they ensure that everyone in their vicinity is privy to their conversation. Have you noticed how loudly people speak when using a mobile phone? The very least they could do if they must take the call is to excuse themselves and retreat to a more private area.

Another example of bad manners is the way in which some individuals treat service staff in restaurants , supermarkets , airports and even doctors’ surgeries. Yes, we all get annoyed  about being delayed but why subject the person behind the counter to abuse and make them the object of your frustration? They are doing their job and they are not personally responsible if a meal is not up to standard, a plane is delayed , a doctor is called out on an emergency or someone uses the quick checkout and as 13 items instead of the required 12!

I could go on listing examples of bad manners here until the cows come home but I am certain each and every one of us has experienced first hand, bad manners. We all tend to tolerate it or make excuses for the offenders when in fact we should be taking people to task for their lack or respect and common courtesy. It costs nothing and is what makes us civilised.

8 thoughts on “Manners & common courtesy. They define us and our character.

  1. Pingback: Manners & common courtesy. They define us and our character.

  2. Maureen,

    As you know, I too, am a curmudgeon when it comes to bad manners. If I never had to endure another cell phone conversation that was not mine, I believe that I could live life quite happily.

    Why do people think that those around them would possibly be interested in their hernia operations, their Aunt Marge’s rheumatism, or their husband’s bad performance in the bedroom?

    But beware of telling someone to turn off the damned things. There was a case a few months ago of a man taking out a gun and shooting someone in a movie theater because the man asked him to stop talking on his phone.

    Now, which was the more egregious offense? The talking on the phone or the use of a firearm during a good movie?

    I know, that was a horrible thing to say, but you understand my point. People have literally gone to the dogs, and that’s insulting to canines.

    Lita

  3. Maureen,

    As you know, I too, am a curmudgeon when it comes to bad manners. If I never had to endure another cell phone conversation that was not mine, I believe that I could live life quite happily.

    Why do people think that those around them would possibly be interested in their hernia operations, their Aunt Marge’s rheumatism, or their husband’s bad performance in the bedroom?

    But beware of telling someone to turn off the damned things. There was a case a few months ago of a man taking out a gun and shooting someone in a movie theater because the man asked him to stop talking on his phone.

    Now, which was the more egregious offense? The talking on the phone or the use of a firearm during a good movie?

    I know, that was a horrible thing to say, but you understand my point. People have literally gone to the dogs, and that’s insulting to canines.

    Lita

  4. Maureen,

    I tend to agree with all you have said. Some things you think would be universal practices but clearly are not. Aside from the loud phone chatters, making everyone in the vicinity hear their prattle about personal things, one of the others that used to bother me, when I lived in big cities and walked everyday around town, was the tossing of scraps and papers on the ground. Is this normal somewhere you wonder? It must be. They will peel a banana and throw the peel at their feet (and yours) or unwrap a snack or a meal and simply let the wrapper fall as if it’s the most natural thing. My mouth used to drop open. I recall plainly one occasion when somene tossed the garbage of a McDonalds meal for the group in the car at my feet.

    Later when I began riding a bicycle everyday I discovered that some folks consider the cyclist a wonderful target for a throw can, a paper cup full of water or soda. This is the world we live in. These are our brothers and sisters. But I often curse them and their next three generations when I have to witness this sort of behavior.

    That’s my monthly rant. Ah…feel so much better now. 😉
    James

  5. Hi James,
    Great to hear from you and receive your comments. You are absolutely correct about the conduct of certain individuals, as they litter the streets and even worse throw items at cyclists and motor bike riders as well. If their behaviour is an example f how they live, imagine how their homes must look. Our house does not have a front fence and it is most unusual to go out the front each morning and not find some type of litter, which has been discarded by passing cars. It annoys me as much as owners of dogs, who allow them to defecate out the front of my house but that is a subject for another day!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    Take care
    Maureen

  6. I was looking up the defin of Common Courtsey and came across this. You defin hit the nail on the head. I agree with you 110%! It still doesn’t discourage me to continue to have good manners and to have common courtsey =) but as you stated, it is so annoying!

  7. Does anyone know anything about the common courtesys one shoud have toward family and in-laws? Like if there happened to be a death in the family, would you expect your in-laws to have the decency to call and give their condolences or is that too much to ask? More examples like this one but i’m beginning to feel like expecting this kind of stuff is me expecting too much from in-laws. What does everyone think?

Leave a Reply

