There are not many opportunities for me to indulge my passion. :)


Today is D’s birthday and although he is working today, I will make it as special as I can for him. Birthdays should be special. It is the one day of the year that belongs to you alone and should be celebrated because after all, who knows what can happen over the next year. I try and make birthdays special for family and friends, although it was not until last year, when I turned 50 that I actually decided to make it special for myself. I did something I have never done before- indulge myself, regardless of cost and do something I have always wanted to do, sky dive http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LEpV6Nva30A It was absolutely exhilarating and has been the catalyst for me to obtain an A grade sky diving license. D will not be undertaking anything as radical but that’s his choice. He is happier to pursue other activities such as photography and more sedate options. Normally, he would have taken a day from his annual leave as a birthday gift to himself but given the current employment situation, decided that it was not a prudent idea. Unusually for him, he has even decided that he does not want any presents- yet. He has his sights set on a new lap top but is still uncertain which would be the better option as far as his photography goes, so he will buy it when he is ready.We are going out for a family dinner tonight (D’s choice), which should be nice as we have not been out together for quite some time.

As much as I enjoy it when I do go out to dine, I much prefer to cook myself. Besides being more thrifty( yes, I am proudly frugal, not tight but frugal lol) I enjoy the whole process preparing food. Cooking is my hobby and is very satisfying, particularly if the people for whom I am cooking have a well developed palate. Unfortunately, my immediate family are very fussy and not that adventurous when it comes to food, so unless I have guests, there are not many opportunities for me to indulge my passion. 🙂

4 thoughts on “There are not many opportunities for me to indulge my passion. :)

  1. Happy birthday to D. I hope that he has a good one.

    I know that you love to cook, but enjoy having someone else cook for you since you don’t let it happen that often.

    I hope that you have a wonderful time, and I hope that once things become more stable (for everyone), D is able to choose a nice present.

    Lita.

  2. Hi Lita,
    Thank you, I will be sure to pass your best wishes on the D. He will be thrilled and lap up the attention! Yes, I will try and get over myself and enjoy it tonight but as you know, the current situation is grim and I worry about what the future holds, so spending money on a restaurant meal does seems rather extravagant but as it is D’s birthday I will put that aside and have a fun night out 🙂
    Maureen

Leave a Reply

