This sneaky practice is becoming more widespread.


As usual, I was awake early this morning and decided to head out to get my supermarket shopping done before breakfast (and the crowds of other shoppers descended on the supermarket).There was a time when I did enjoy shopping but now it is nothing more than an essential chore, which is done as quickly as possible.

Fortunately  for me, I have a great memory and know the price, size and weight of each item( fantastic when it comes to going through the check out. Numerous times I have received goods for free due to incorrect bar coding on individual items, differing from that marked on the shelf  LOL) so any changes to particular items are obvious immediately.

What I have noticed happening frequently, is the size  and weight of some items is diminishing and the price is remaining the same or increasing marginally,usually in line with CPI increases. This sneaky practice is becoming more widespread and each time I shop I notice several examples.Fifty grams here, 100 sheets there, it all adds up and it is us– the consumer who is expected to pay for it. Not me. I immediately boycott the item and the company who is participating in these price rises by stealth and urge other consumers to do the same.

For most of my adult life, I have made a concerted effort not to purchase anything from the supermarket which I can readily make at home. I make my own detergents, cleaning products, bake, prepare meals and freeze them and where possible purchase meat, fish and fresh fruit and vegetables direct from the market or wholesalers. In doing this, my home is relatively chemical free, I know what is in the food I feed my family and the savings are substantial. Me being frugal again but if you have ever been in the situation where you had to do it really hard, these practices become second nature because you never want to revisit those times! Regardless of the savings and chemical free environment, I do enjoy the challenge of thrifty living and get a great deal of satisfaction preparing everything at home. Too bad this does not extend to clothing. I admire anyone who can sew and make their own garments!

I realise not everyone is able to ” do it themselves” due to commitments, time constraints or ill health and for some purchasing everything ready made is more convenient but even growing a few vegetables in pots is possible for most and is rewarding , both in taste and the hip pocket.

We did not go out for D’s birthday dinner last night as Prue was feeling unwell, so we will go tomorrow night. He did not mind at all as he has had a physically demanding week at work and welcomed the opportunity to come home relax, have dinner and get an early night. I think we will all enjoy it more tomorrow night 🙂

8 thoughts on “This sneaky practice is becoming more widespread.

  1. Hi Maureen,
    Yes the old shrinking items bit. I never paid attention to it much until a couple of years ago when I noticed one item was considerably lighter than before. The price and package design were unchanged. I said to a cashier, “Didn’t these use to be much bigger?” I don’t remember what she said, but after that I began noticing these shrinkages often.

    It just another deceptive practice of advertisers whose many function at times appears to be to deceive. As a songwriter I know what it is to create an illusion and there are times when I welcome it. Most of us are escapists from time to time (Me, most of the time). But to deceive for entertainment is entirely different in effect than deception used by advertising, which has the value of a cold slap in the face but isn’t as noticeable.

    James

  2. Hi James,
    Thanks for your comments. Yes, it is deceptive and unless one is vigilant , could go completely undetected.
    How is your work going? I saw the BB site today and it’s brilliant. Great work, as usual 🙂
    Maureen

  3. Maureen:

    It also sounds like you live a very heathy lifestyle. Fresh produce and no chemicals. I try my best also to avoid use of unnecessary chemicals in my home. Living “green” if you will.

    Lee

  4. Maureen,

    Wow, I’m really impressed. I had no idea that you were so handy with all of your abilities to make these things. I knew of your cooking abilities, but making your cleaning goods as well? That’s really something. Living without chemicals is so much healthier, but we haven’t gotten there yet.

    I don’t do the shopping as much as I used to, but I always look at sizes and prices to see how much you are getting for your money. But everything is in every category is starting to creep up in cost. It feels as if there is no way to win this battle.

    Lita.

  5. Hi Lita,
    Thanks for your comments. I do make one concession as far as cleaning products go( I know you will appreciate this) and that is buying bleach. I find it is essential (for someone like me who tends to be a bit obsessive about cleanliness LOL).
    As far as shopping for fresh food goes, we are fortunate to have a large Asian population living in the area and they have the best markets. Great selection of everything and extremely fresh( and reasonably priced too). Most of my cooking is of Asian origin so it is a bonus have access to a wide variety of produce and dry goods such as noodles, sauces and rice.
    Take care
    Maureen

  6. Oh you are lucky with the Asian markets. They always have good produce and lots of variety. Believe it or not, we only have a few stores here, and they are so pricey. None of the open air markets.

  7. Oh yes, they are fabulous and everything is so fresh. It is just like being at a market in China, Vietnam or Thailand. When we first starting shopping there about 25 years ago, we were the only Anglos but now it seems everyone is in on our secret. In the surrounding suburbs, there is also a large Indian and African population so if you are into Indian or African food, you can pick up all the provisions required locally.
    Now I am feeling hungry!
    We are going out for D’s birthday dinner tonight, to a local Vietnamese where the food is to die for! I will tell you about it tomorrow 🙂

Leave a Reply

