I am the adventurous one in the family!


Last night D, Prue and I went out for dinner and it was fantastic. Nothing extravagant but so good. Vietnamese food is fresh, clean food, flavoursome and tantalising to the palate. We tend to eat Vietnamese  for two reasons;it is great food and it is one of the cuisine preferences we will all eat. I enjoy most cuisines (even though I do not eat meat, white or red) and delight in trying out new and unusual food but my family, particularly D, are not so adventurous!

I was in the mood for soup last night and ordered Tom Yum( my favourite), which arrived in a massive bowl, steaming hot, with the distinctive aromas of chilli, coriander and lemongrass teasing the senses. It was heaven  and even though it was more than  meal in itself, I also ordered an entree (here in Australia, that means small portion of food , prior to the main meal)of prawn spring rolls which were accompanied by a plate of crisp lettuce, assorted mint leaves, Thai basil and a delicious Nuoc Cham (dipping sauce).It took me almost two hours to finish and although very substantial, I did not feel weighed down when I finished.

Prue had one of her favourite meals, vermicelli noodle salad, topped with prawn spring rolls and crushed peanuts. She surrendered and admitted defeat about 75% of the way through her meal. D was not going to veer away from his normal selection but we finally coaxed him to try out another rice dish to accompany his main course of pork.He said he enjoyed the meal but was unable to eat all but a few spoons of rice, so he requested a doggy bag to bring it home to have today LOL

The restaurant was relatively quiet compared to normal, as we arrived late and there was also a large community festival on nearby last night. I have to admit that I did enjoy the low buzz of the restaurant and not the loud din which is normally the case. Afterwards, we took Prue back to her house and stayed for a short time , before coming home around  22:00 or so. It was an enjoyable night 🙂

2 thoughts on “I am the adventurous one in the family!

  1. I’m so glad that you were able to go out. It sounds like a lovely dinner for the three of you.

    I’ve never had Vietnamese food, but I love Thai. Thai spring rolls are usually vegetarian, and I love the sauce that comes with them.

    Glad you had your belated celebration.

    Lita

Leave a Reply

