What I would look for in another relationship?


Today, I read a post by my daughter about deal breakers in  relationship and it got me thinking about what I would look for in another relationship?I have had nearly 30 years to think about it!

1.A man who is honest. I find liars abhorrent.Why Lie?

2.Kindness and compassion. Someone who is genuinely kind.

3. Courteous and well mannered, to everyone.

4.A man who has intestinal fortitude and the courage of their convictions.Someone with balls!

5. A man with plenty of energy, who seeks out new and exciting experiences and places.

6.Someone who is NOT lazy. No slack arse couch potato. Been there, done that!

7.A man who is well groomed and takes care of his body.

8.A man who is not afraid to show his gentle side and loves to cuddle on the couch.

9.Someone who enjoys picnics and long drives in the country.

10. A man who is capable of making long term plans and achieving goals as a couple.

11. A partner who enjoys having fun, whether it is preparing dinner together and giving each other long massages.

12. Someone who is capable of saying ” you look good today”.

13. A partner who enjoys frequent lovemaking.

14.A man who knows how to drink in moderation.

15. He must be a good driver. (I am a nervous passenger).

16.Someone who can accept responsibility and on whom I can rely 100%.

17. A man who, if he has children, loves and is supportive of them.

18. A man who is handy around the house and capable of  minor fix it jobs.

19. A man who enjoys the arts.

20.A partner with a fabulous sense of humour and can laugh at himself.

I would like to think that somewhere there is a man with all these attributes. Maybe I am dreaming LOL

10 thoughts on “What I would look for in another relationship?

  1. Hi Maureen

    I really enjoy reading your blog but find this entry quite sad. It is as though you are indirectly picking out all of the faults with your current partner and by reading your list, he doesn’t have much to offer. I’m sorry if that sounds harsh, it is in no way intended to, but i hope he doesn’t read this, it may make him feel quite inadequate.

    Keep up the good writing, I do enjoy the blog.

    Cheers,

    Milly

  2. Hi Milly
    Thanks for your comments I am pleased to know you are a regular reader.
    I am sorry you got that impression. In fact what I am stating is what I would hope to find(again) in another partner plus a handful of things on the list (one being a common interest in the arts and I also forgot to mention similar religious beliefs) which would be very nice to find in any potential partner. In addition to their individual pursuits, I think couples need to have common interests as well.When you don’t, life can be very lonely. The same goes for religion.
    We may not have a traditional relationship but it works because we have made it work.My partner could have deserted me many times over the years when I have been seriously ill or recovering from surgery but he hasn’t. I have been there when he has needed me too, through illness, unemployment etc.
    What my list was all about was what I would look for in another potential life partner. No hidden agendas or malicious intent. I am sure my partner would be able to write a list of his own about what he would look for in another partner too.
    I hope this makes sense.
    Best wishes
    Maureen 🙂

  3. I viewed this list probably much as you intended it:
    1. a response to Prue’s entry on deal breakers
    2. a combination of what you have and what you would like to have
    3. musings by any woman on what cannot be changed, but if it could, these would be nice

    When you have a life partner, it would be foolish to pretend that after many years together, there are things that you wish were present. That is not an indictment of your partner as the person that he is; rather, it is a reality that both of you share as human beings: that neither is perfect, that no one is perfect, that no couple is perfectly matched, and that life, as it unfolds, tends to make us realize what we have and do not have.

    I know that there are things about me that Corey wishes weren’t so, and the same for me, but at the same time, it’s the making it work in spite of these things that makes the relationship stronger.

    And as a friend of mine always said: “Just because you are on a diet doesn’t mean that you can’t look at the menu.”

  4. Hi Lita,
    Thanks for your comments.
    D could probably write a book on all the things he would change about me hahahaha.It’s the good points that have kept us together for 30 years. 🙂

Leave a Reply

