I have work to do, so I best get back to it. :)


A few words of thanks to those of you who have emailed, commented or messaged me over the past week. I appreciate all comments or feedback 🙂

As mentioned in a previous post, it was a quiet week end. I went to see Prue yesterday and only  stayed a short time as she has a cold and was a bit low and  I had shopping to do and really just wanted to get home as soon as possible.My energy levels are still down; I hope that I am not coming down with something too!

On Sunday night I called my Mum to catch up as she and Bill are leaving shortly, for a 3 week holiday in Tasmania, where they will celebrate her 70th birthday. They are never home . LOL  I am so happy for them, especially for Mum. She is so happy since she and Bill have been together. A far cry from the 40 odd years she had with my father. Harsh yes, but it’s true. Life with him was not fun for anyone but that’s the type of person he was. A complex man who was a good provider but incapable of being a loving father or husband.

As with all the trips they take, Bill has meticulously planned their itinerary and they will be on the go each day. Bill  is an historian and his list of places to visit includes most of the cemeteries  and historical sites in Tasmania.Coincidentally, that is where Bill and his late wife and my parents spent their honeymoons. They even stayed at the same hotels! Most trips they have taken revolve around researching the family trees but we don’t have, or have never had relatives there- the only place where they have not settled!

His research of the family trees is very thorough and he has traced all of the paternal side and is now working on the maternal side. I wonder if they will travel to France to undertake further research there, when he exhausts the records here?We still have relatives there and it would be nice to make contact  with them.

During the conversation with Mum, she told me of a sad incident involving 2 of my brothers, (who are both landscape gardeners) who have been contracted to do some of the clearing work, in the bush fire affected areas. It seems they came across a burnt out wreck of a vehicle, which contained the remains of an elderly man and his dog. Apparently, this elderly gentleman had been missing for weeks and hopes of finding him had faded. At least now, his relatives have closure and he can be given a a dignified burial.Mum said this really upset my brothers and they were considering going to counselling.The tragedy from the fires seems to go on and on.

I have work to do, so I best get back to it. 🙂

5 thoughts on “I have work to do, so I best get back to it. :)

  1. Oh Maureen,

    How awful for your brothers and that poor man. That would be a very hard discovery to make.

    Good news for your mum, though. Tasmania sounds intriguing, and France sounds even better. I hope that they have a lovely time.

    Lita

  2. Hi Lita,
    Yes, finding him would have been horrific. Mum said both he and his dog were still strapped in their seat belts. It seems they must have run off the road while driving in thick smoke and the fire came through after they had crashed. Poor man.
    Tasmania will be lovely at this time of the year. I think they will have a terrific time. Maybe if we get friendly with the relatives in France, I may be invited over some time to visit?? Now that would be great!!!
    Maureen 🙂

  3. Maureen,

    I’d start working on that “French Connection!”

    I’d suggest your brothers perhaps look into some counseling. It could really help them process all that comes with making such a discovery.

    I’m still amazed how quickly that fire caught its victims. I have no frame of reference for such a thing here in the states.

    Take care, and Viva la France!

  4. Hi Dan,
    Thanks for your comments. Yes, that’s a great idea. I think they will benefit from some counselling.
    Don’t worry Dan, I will be doing my best to discover the relatives in France. LOL
    You take care too.
    Maureen 🙂

Leave a Reply

