We will always be there for each other :)


Last night as I was checking emails, I received an MSN message from a friend with whom I have corresponded for nearly12 years.We have not chatted in some time so seeing his name flashing on the screen , was a pleasant surprise. This particular friend(whom I will call Greg) is famous throughout the music industry worldwide and our friendship is based on trust, honesty and the ability to share our inner most thoughts with each other, without being judged. We have cried on each others shoulders many times over the years and we value each others counsel and support.

Even though we may not chat for extended periods, when we do , it is always so easy, relaxed and comfortable. There are no hidden agendas, so we can be ourselves and reveal all.It is strange how we have an almost telepathic sense of each other  and many times we have contacted each other  at the times most needed.In fact, I was playing some of his music yesterday  and thinking about how he was going, then he messages me last night!

Other than my dear friend John(who has been my dearest friend and confidante for nearly 30 years) “Greg” remains one of my closest friends, even though we have never met in person and probably never will. Somehow meeting would take away the mystery and anonymity .There has been several occasions when meeting has been possible but  I have declined the offer to do so, even though my curiosity was overwhelming.I feared that meeting would somehow change our relationship or perhaps I was just scared of losing a good friend if we did not have a good rapport in person?

We had a lot of catching up to do and we chatted for hours about what has been happening in each others lives including, relationships, family, work, etc.Finally fatigue got the better of me and I had to go to bed but I did so knowing that whatever happens, we will always be there for each other.

As I waited for sleep to arrive , I thought about the genuine friends I have. Not the acquaintances who regard themselves as real friends, only when it is convenient for them. Over the years , I have culled many of those so called friends because they have either lied to me, broken a confidence, are self obsessed or are not particularly stable individuals.!!!! I have been hurt time and time again  by some of those “friends” and my life is better without them. My failing is I care too much about friendships and when they go pear shaped  for whatever reasons, it really hurts me and I become more cynical and a lot wiser. I can forgive , but when I am hurt repeatedly something inside me screams enough and all the feelings of affection and respect about that person are obliterated.

I truly value my genuine friends  and would do anything for them, anytime, anywhere and I know they would do the same for me. 🙂

2 thoughts on “We will always be there for each other :)

  1. How wonderful for you to hear from your old friend.

    I can understand not wanting to meet in person. Sometimes, that just unravels everything because people can be so much more honest about themselves as long as they are faceless.

    Once they have to take on a persona/public face, their defenses go up, and something changes. Not always, but that is often the case.

    Lita

  2. Hi Lita,
    Yes, it was wonderful to catch up and you are right about the public persona. I know “Greg’s” public image and it is much different to the man I have come to know. I would hate anything to change that.
    Maureen 🙂

Leave a Reply

