True love is eternal.


Over the week end I had several conversations with two different individuals, each in the midst of a relationship crisis. One is completely heartbroken, inconsolable and deeply affected by the shock ending of a long term relationship with the love of her life. The other hurt and angry that her her feelings are not reciprocated by the man she has loved for many years.The former is devastated, convinced that she will never find love again. The latter is already seeking out  a new relationship(a defense mechanism more than anything else) to prove to all it is not she who is the looser but her ex.

True love is eternal.
If you think you were once in love but fell out of it, then it wasn’t love you were in. (Anon.)

Here, I frequently write about how important the love of family and friends is to me but I cannot recall writing anything substantial about love between two individuals. What is love anyway? It is exquisite, passionate, furious, angry, emotional, tender, intimate, kind, fun, considered,respectful,forgiving, reckless, vexing, sensual, insatiable,erotic, aggravating, unconditional and so much more. It is addictive and once you have experienced real love, finding it again it is not unlike a junkie searching for the same high of that first hit of heroin!

There have been many times in my life, where I thought I had found true love but it was not until I did, that I realised those previous relationships were based on lust and friendship. The overwhelming emotions I felt when I did meet the love of my life were terrifying in their intensity.Nothing had prepared me for the roller coaster journey I was about to embark upon. The joy, tears, laughter, passion I had it all but more than that, I had found a soul mate.

You will know when you really love someone when you want him to be happy even if his happiness means you are not a part of it.

(Anon.)

I don’t know if one can ever find that type of love again and if so, they would be indeed, extremely fortunate.Many go on to other relationships, where they are content to settle for wealth, status, sex, companionship or kindness, knowing they will never  find that all consuming love again and are happy to live their life that way. That’s life and who said it was ever easy?

Doubt that the stars are fire;
Doubt that the sun doth move;
Doubt truth to be a liar;
But never doubt I love.
(“Hamlet”)

William Shakespeare





2 thoughts on “True love is eternal.

  1. Maureen,

    What a good post. Love is so perplexing. And you are absolutely correct in saying that when you do finally find love, you realize that all of the relationships before were not really love, but lust, companionship, friendship, and sometimes, just boredom.

    I consider myself incredibly fortunate to have stumbled upon a great love when I was not looking. Corey’s love for me helped me to get over my devastation from the collapse of my first marriage in that it opened my eyes in many ways. Not the least of which was that I saw that my love for Paul, and his for me, were constricted by so many things.

    A life without love can be such a hollow existence, but some people do just fine being alone. I am not one of them. I can exist alone, but I prefer to have love in my life and a partner by my side.

    Lita

  2. Hi Lita,
    You have summed it up so succinctly. When you have experienced genuine love, living without it can be a very hollow existence.
    Take care
    Maureen 🙂

Leave a Reply

