I always felt so loved and secure when I was with them.


Yesterday, I came across an uplifting blog written by a gentleman named Greg Naylor (kingvalley.wordpress.com/2009/03/25/m….) It made me think about how much I miss the counsel and wisdom of my own grandmother and how influential she has been on my life. I know I have mentioned that I spent a great deal of time with her as a child, due to family circumstances and later, my grandparents regularly provided a safe refuge for me when I needed to escape what was going on at home. She taught me many things, including manners, etiquette, how to cook, play golf and even gave me an appreciation of horticulture. My grandparents were very community minded, belonging to several committees and welfare organisations and my grandfather was one of the city’s magistrates. Regularly, he would bring home individuals, down on their luck, who had come before him on the bench, for a hot meal and a change of clothes. That’s the type of people they were, rubbing shoulders with the socially elite one minute and those on skid row the next.

What really stood out to me a s a child, was my grandparents did not factor age into anything they did.Everyone was afforded the same courtesies, the right to be heard and respect(very different from my own home where my father was the king of his castle, you only spoke when spoken to and anyone with an opinion different from his was ordered out of the house).Needless to say, my father regularly clashed with his in laws and this created massive problems for my mother who was an only child!

Nanna and Poppa were big on caravan holidays and I can remember many  happy trips away with them. They knew how to have fun, whether it was ski boat racing, fishing or even playing cards at the caravan table after dinner. They never excluded any of us grandchildren from their activities and encouraged us to participate in conversations they would have with their friends and fellow campers. I always felt so loved and secure when I was with them- they actually liked me and listened when I had something to say!

I have digressed from what I was originally going to write, as usual. LOL  Grandparents have so much wisdom and experience to pass on to their grandchildren and anyone who has not been fortunate to experience that, has missed out on something wonderful. 🙂

6 thoughts on “I always felt so loved and secure when I was with them.

  1. Maureen,

    I really envy you. I never really knew my grandparents. I spent a little bit of time with my father’s parents when we were in the Philippines, but I was so young, that my memories aren’t very vivid.

    My mother’s mother died when she was eight, and I only saw her father in a nursing home.

    But I agree about the importance of grandparents in a child’s life. That is the main reason that we moved back to Norfolk after being in Northern Virginia. I wanted Alexis and my subsequent children to know their grandparents.

    My kids love their grandparents, and vice versa. I think that it is wonderful.

    Lita

  2. Hi Lita,
    You made the right decision in moving your family back to Norfolk, so they can get to know their grandparents. They will cherish those times forever, the way I still do, even though my grandparents have been dead for over 25 years. Believe it or not, there are still times when i find myself going to pick up the phone to call my nanna. I am so sorry that you don’t have such wonderful memories of those special times with your grandparents.
    Hugs
    Maureen

  3. I wish you could still pick up the phone and talk to Great Nanna too 😦 I’m sad I never got the chance to know her, but I love that you still talk about her because it keeps her memory alive and gives me a chance to learn about her 🙂
    Maybe we can go out to her house when we go for our road trip!? Let’s do it! I have good music for the car 🙂 xoxoox

  4. Hi Prue,
    I do miss her so much , even after all this time. I too, wish she had lived longer so you could have known her. You would have loved her.
    Once I get some new tyres for the car, we can take the road trip. Good times!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    Ti amo
    Mama xxxxx

  5. Hi Maureen
    I too was robbed of the experience of Grandparents for the most part, I don’t remember much about my fathers dad, I remember more about his mother but both were gone by the 6th grade. I never knew my moms father but I did get to know her mother well until she became ill and my godmother insisted on having her at her house.
    To this day I am drawn to older people at my jobs, I befriended a guy I worked with at night years ago who was an art enthusiast, as I was an artist we became fast friends. Harvey and I would go to museum shows together and he would always challenge me to really look at art and see the hand of the artist. While I was away seeing England and Paris for the first time (and maybe the last the way things are going money wise the last few years) he became ill and died in the hospital, he never let on that his Neuropathy had progressed and he couldn’t walk anymore, he just made excuses why we couldn’t take in a museum show together, family commitments and such in the months before his passing. I never got to tell him about Paris or the Louve, or about seeing England with my parents and my dads old hometown. I find I always adopt old people like this, I became very close to the artist James Rosenquist, during a class with him at the Guggenheim in New York in 2003, he too became a grandfather figure for me, and since I too experienced the same kind of home life you described. I can say how lucky you are to have had such grandparents as you did, I think I too will find them again in the form of older people I come upon in my travels. The real shame is that it’s just not the same as my parents who are in thier 70’s, it’s a different dynamic, one that can’t be duplicated with moms and dads. Peace Glen.

  6. Hi Glen,
    Welcome and thank you for such an interesting comment. Like you, I tend to gravitate to elderly people as they can be pearls of wisdom. I sat here and thought about what a wonderful life you have experienced so far and admire you for your joie de vivre!!
    Congratulations on your site too. I particularly liked your “Anthony Bourdain” Post.
    Best wishes
    Maureen

Leave a Reply

