She was completely out of line and I would not tolerate her b/s.


If there is one thing that really irritates me, it is individuals lacking emotional intelligence. I have just got of the phone from speaking with someone with whom I have been friendly for many years, so I am well aware of her character flaws and have overlooked them as they were not malicious in nature, just thoughtless. That was until the week end, when she overstepped the mark and denigrated someone close to me. Whatever else I may be, I am fiercely loyal to those I care about and I was not going to sit back and allow her to get away with it.The trouble with people like her is that they will continue their behaviour if they are not challenged and as expected, once challenged , she back peddled frantically. Excuses and apologies just did not cut it with me and I calmly let her know that she was completely out of line and I would not tolerate her b/s. I also told her that she was the one with the problem and not the person she so nastily criticised.

I am very laid back in nature and tend to live and let live, without judging others but this person attacked someone she knew would not fight back. That’s bullying and it’s abhorrent.I have always taught my daughter and counselled clients, not to tolerate this from anyone, so I was certainly not going to let it pass because of our friendship. Of course she was surprised , as she had never seen this side of me but now she has. I hope she now takes a good look at herself because right now, she is a very ugly person, in my eyes.

Other than that, the weekend was very productive. Today, I hope to go to the nursery to pick up the plants for the hedge and come back and plant them before nightfall. 🙂

6 thoughts on “She was completely out of line and I would not tolerate her b/s.

  1. Good for you, Maureen! There is way too much of that sort of behavior going around and it’s not good for anyone. I assume she was telling these negative things to you without that person being present. It’s the easiest thing for some people to do, and is also pretty damaging. If she’s really got a problem with this other person, let her display some courage and actually go share her thoughts and feelings with that person directly. She should have known better than to try and suck you into her game, since anyone courageous enough to take a flying leap out of an airplane is capable of handling just about anything.

  2. Hi Dan and thank you for your comments.
    I sound terrible in that post don’t I? But as I wrote, it takes a lot to get me to that point.I detest anyone who acts the way she did. Besides being nasty, she was as you noted, doing it behind someone’s back.
    You always make so much sense Dan 🙂
    Maureen

  3. The world through others eyes is often expressed in words without thought or care for those who see, read, and hear from within. There one holds the key to close one door and unlock another. The blind must learn to walk alone, stumble, mind their own thoughts. Yet, when they fall one must be there to catch them.
    As ever be well, Stephen Craig Rowe

  4. Maureen,

    You don’t sound terrible. You sound like a woman who is loyal to her friends and will not tolerate bullying.

    Good for you. Unfortunately, people such as the one you described rarely see themselves for what they truly are, but at least you tried.

    Lita

  5. Thanks Lita.
    As I said, it takes a lot for me to get to that point but she was bad mouthing someone who did not deserve it was not there to defend himself.If that person had been there, she would not have said a word!
    Maureen 🙂

Leave a Reply

