There is something exotic, sensual and mysterious about those elaborate masks.


This morning, I was responding to the comments received and Glen’s comments about his desire to travel got me thinking about all those places I  have longed to visit. Paris of course, to visit the galleries , museums and France in general, to look up relatives I have never met. Italy, especially Florence, Milan and Venice, which I would love to visit during the pre- Lent masquerade celebrations. There is something exotic, sensual and mysterious about those elaborate masks, a la Kubrick’s Eyes Wide Shut!Many years ago, my then boyfriend and I used to talk about relocating to the Greek Islands and although I would not live there now, my desire to visit there is still very strong.Israel is another place I have always wanted to visit, more so in recent years for religious reasons. When I was a teenager , I used to dream about travelling to Israel and working on a Kibbutz. Now, I wish I had thrown caution to the wind and just done it!

I have travelled extensively through Asia and the Pacific Islands, mainly through the work I used to do, so I would like to return to places like China again and spend an extended period visiting all the places I never had the time to see back then.

There is still so much of this country I have yet to see, especially the north west area( Kimberly region) of Western Australia, the Gulf country up north and parts of outback Queensland. D is always talking about doing the “big trip”, something many Australian aspire to, where they buy a 4×4 or a camper van and head off for an indefinite period to circumnavigate this massive continent. Hmm, I don’t think I could handle so much red dust and days of seeing nothing but gnarled trees and salt bush. LOL Maybe I will warm to the idea one day but for now flying seems a much better option. 🙂

2 thoughts on “There is something exotic, sensual and mysterious about those elaborate masks.

  1. I don’t know about traveling the outback in a camper. I much prefer to have umbrella drinks handy when I’m traveling (not that that’s in the forseeable future). Ha!

    I, too, loved those masks in Eyes Wide Shut. I love the beautiful hand held masks made with feathers and sequins. If you look closely at the top left of my banner, you might be able to see one.

  2. Hi Lita,
    I am with you. Comfortable bed, access to a beach and no red dust. lol
    I will check out the mask on your site.
    Take care
    Maureen 🙂

Leave a Reply

