I enjoy listening to the sounds of the city as it comes alive.


Sleep is eluding me tonight so I have got up, made some toast and come down to the computer to write a few emails and catch up on some reading.Seldom do I have any problem going to sleep (unlike tonight) and usually sleep for 4 hours before waking. How I would love to be able to sleep for even 6 hours straight and envy those for whom sleep comes easily.

Sleep is one of those things that is taken for granted, until it presents a problem. Over the years I have become accustomed to the peace and tranquility of the pre dawn darkness, the creeping around the house so as not to disturb those who are sleeping, waiting for first light and the chorus of birds, which inhabit the tree outside the dining room window.I enjoy listening to the sounds of the city as it comes alive. The melodic clacking of the trains as they arrive and depart the local stations.  Even though the railway stations are not close by the trains can be heard for several kilometers; the same with the freeways. I enjoy the routine of making fresh coffee, playing with Chevy(the cat)before putting his collar on and allowing him to go outside and listening to my favourite breakfast radio show. Morning really is the best time of the day!

Yesterday, I was busy all day and did not get home until 18:30. I had an appointment down the Peninsula and quite a  bit of running around to do, before going to Prue’s place and taking her to collect Bea Arthur (the new cat) from the vet’s , where she had been since early morning(she was de sexed). The procedure went well and she seemed to be happy enough, although she did look, as all animals do, very silly with that Elizabethan collar. I always go into fits of laughter when I see cats or even funnier dogs, with their heads poking out of a bucket. LOL

Pesach/Passover and the Easter Holidays begin today so the roads will be busy later this afternoon. I hope it is a happy and safe time for everyone 🙂

2 thoughts on “I enjoy listening to the sounds of the city as it comes alive.

  1. Glad Bea Arthur made it through her procedure. Those collars are very funny, especially on bigger dogs like Labs. I remember that Murphy hated hers and actually found a way to get it off.

    Sorry that sleep is eluding you. I know firsthand how much of a pain that can be. I’ve actually been sleeping better since I went off the Lamictal, no more intensely crazy dreams. I told the doctor that I woke up each morning feeling exhausted and with a headache from clenching my teeth.

    Start the new medicine tomorrow. We’ll see how this one goes.

    Take care.

    Lita

  2. Hi Lita,
    Thanks for your comments. They do look so funny. Haha. Good luck with the new medication too!
    Take care
    Maureen 🙂

Leave a Reply

