They never knew where we were or when we would be back.


Today is so much quieter and relaxed than yesterday. I was busy most of the day on the computer, then took a break late in the afternoon, to go to the supermarket to pick up a few things for today (all the shops are closed here for Good Friday).I had hoped  that we would devote the Easter break to more work around the house but unfortunately, that will not be happening.

One of my favourite activities over the Easter break used to be mushrooming. Getting up before dawn and going into the countryside to pick wild mushrooms.There is nothing like the taste of fresh wild mushrooms. They are an absolute treat and something I have not eaten for years now. Unfortunately, the mild weather conditions mean there will not be any mushrooms around this Easter.

I often think how times have changed. When I was a child, my siblings and I would be awake before dawn and leave home in the dark to trek out to the rural area surrounding our town. Armed with buckets, knives and fruit for sustenance, we would scurry along the roads and dirt tracks, so we would be at our preferred mushrooming spot  as the sun rose.

If it was a particularly good season, we would select the very best mushrooms and carefully pack them into shallow cardboard boxes and sell them to the local green grocers. We would also make up a sign and sell the surplus mushrooms from the side of the road at the front of our property.Mushrooming was a tasty and profitable exercise for my sister, five bothers and me and lasted from Easter until the first month of winter.

Our parents were fine about allowing us to disappear into the darkness alone and travel miles into the bush, returning only when each bucket and all our pockets were filled with the fresh fungi. They never knew where we were or when we would be back. It is something that would not happen today, which is a sad indication of the  world in which we now live.

We are planning a bbq for Sunday lunch, so I am going to take it easy today and begin preparing for the bbq tomorrow.

Have a good weekend 🙂

2 thoughts on “They never knew where we were or when we would be back.

  1. Maureen,

    I’ve never been wild mushrooming. I would probably end up poisoning myself and my family or giving us all hallucinations!

    I do know what you mean about disappearing for hours on end, from daylight until sunset, and no one even thought about it. And the bitter irony is that we were pretty safe. My mom would just stand on the porch and holler my name, and eventually, word would get to me that she wanted me home.

    No cell phones. No worries about molestors (although, I’m sure they were out there). No checking in. Just days and days of uninterrupted summertime glory.

    It’s too bad that our own children will never experience such freedom, or at least, freedom from the terrors that seem to surround everything today.

    Hugs,

    Lita

  2. Hi Lita,
    Thanks for your comments. Yes, times have certainly changed. Back then, the whole community would keep an eye for the children and would not hesitate to tick you off if they thought you were up to mischief or call your parents if they were concerned about your welfare. It is a shame we have to be so vigilant now about the whereabouts of our kids.
    Best wishes
    Maureen 🙂

Leave a Reply

