They are so tacky that you just have to love them!!!


Big Mallee Bull(Birchip,VIC,Australia)

Big Mallee Bull(Birchip,VIC,Australia)

If I have to name one thing that distinguishes Australia and Australians from the rest of the world, it would have to be our weird sense of humour. It is self -deprecating  and we can laugh at ourselves and our surroundings. One of my favourite examples of this is our penchant for “BIG” things. We have numerous structures scattered all over the country, depicting a person, animal,fruit/vegetable or thing that has come to symbolise a particular area or region.These are a few of my favourites. They are so tacky that you just have to love them!!!

Big Ned Kelly(Glenrowan,VIC,Australia)

Big Ned Kelly(Glenrowan,VIC,Australia)

Big Banana(Coffs Harbour,NSW,Australia)

Big Banana(Coffs Harbour,NSW,Australia)

Big Cheese(Bodalla NSW,Australia)

Big Cheese(Bodalla NSW,Australia)

Big Golden Guitar(Tamworth NSW,Australia)

Big Golden Guitar(Tamworth NSW,Australia)

Big Trout(Adaminaby,NSW,Australia)

Big Trout(Adaminaby,NSW,Australia)

Big Cow(Nambour,QLD, Australia)

Big Cow(Nambour,QLD, Australia)

The Big Lobster(Kingston,SA,Australia)

The Big Lobster(Kingston,SA,Australia)

The Big Merino(Goulburn,NSW,Australia)

The Big Merino(Goulburn,NSW,Australia)

The Big Pineapple(Nambour,QLD,Australia)

The Big Pineapple(Nambour,QLD,Australia)

6 thoughts on “They are so tacky that you just have to love them!!!

  1. Lol on that big pinapple. It’s been a very long time since I commented here. Great blog! 😉 Thanks for putting me ont he must visits. I will add you on my blogroll.

  2. Maureen,

    After an exhausting post, very emotional, the big banana and big guitar were exactly what I needed to see.

    Too funny. Someday, I hope to pose in front of some of your county’s biggies.

    Lita

  3. Hi Gardenax,
    Great hearing from you again. Thanks for your kind words about the site and you are most welcome re: putting your site on my blogroll. The pineapple is wonderful, isn’t it?
    Best wishes
    Maureen 🙂

  4. Hi Lita.
    I am glad they gave you a laugh and I too, hope that one day you will visit here to see them.
    Hugs
    Maureen 🙂

  5. Great pictures! I love tacky roadside attractions! We have a few of them here in the States! Great!

  6. Hi Amy,
    Thanks for visiting again. I took your advice about fuelmyblog, thank you.
    I have searched for your site but have been unable to find it. Please drop me a line or leave your URL here so I can visit your site.
    The roadside attractions are wonderful fun, even if they are reallyyyyyy bad LOL
    Best wishes
    Maureenl

Leave a Reply

