Some fond memories of beautiful Gippsland.


This morning after reading a comment left by Tony (another proud Victorian) I thought about just how beautiful this State and indeed this country( Australia) is.When people think of Australia, there is a tendency to immediately associate it with red dust, salt bush and the out back but there is so much more to it than that.

I grew up in Morwell, Latrobe Valley, Gippsland, Victoria (and shifted to the Gippsland Lakes later) . It  is the gateway to the beautiful Strezleckis via Grand Ridge Road, which leads to Mirboo Nth and further  to Leongatha, Wonthaggi and Inverloch. For the more adventurous, there is the trip over the Strezleckis via the Jerralangs ( much easier now that it is sealed and not a dirt road), down to Dumbalk, Foster then the magnificent Wilsons Prom. via the Sth Gippsland Highway. I have memories of many happy trips down to Foster with my first b/f  for week ends away and also doing the weekly trip up the Grand Ridge Road from Morwell to Mirboo Nth and the tiny hairdressing salon we opened once a week for the local ladies to come, be pampered and catch up on all the district goss! We (another hairdresser/ colleague) used to travel up there in the most basic V W  Beetle, with no heating or radio, which was fine in summer but unbearable in the winter months. The journey itself was and is still spectacular with various ferns and greenery lining the road and the fragrance of the bush, which was somehow comforting.I recommend visiting Tony Middleton’s site, http://tonymiddleton.wordpress.com/ to see the magnificent scenery , which I do miss living here in Melbourne. 🙂

7 thoughts on “Some fond memories of beautiful Gippsland.

  1. Maureen,

    I just love all of the names of the places that you have listed. So much more interesting than the names of places around here.

    Of course, my first car was a VW Beetle, Orange, but I had heat and added a stereo. No A/C, of course. Boy, that bug took me places. I do so wish that I had never sold it.

    Lita

  2. Hi Lita,
    Thanks for the compliment about the names of places. It’s funny you know, I have always thought that the US had more sophisticated names LOL Many of the towns and cities here come from the Aboriginal language or are named after a town or village in Great Britain.
    My word, you had a flash bug. We used to have to hang a transistor radio from the rear view mirror for music. They were great cars that just kept on keeping on.
    Maureen 🙂

  3. Hi Lita,
    Thanks for the compliment about the names of places. It’s funny you know, I have always thought that the US had more sophisticated names LOL Many of the towns and cities here come from the Aboriginal language or are named after a town or village in Great Britain.
    My word, you had a flash bug. We used to have to hang a transistor radio from the rear view mirror for music. They were great cars that just kept on keeping on.
    Maureen 🙂

  4. Maureen,

    I never thought of it as flashy, but I supposed that it was in its own way.

    Personally, I don’t really like the new Beetles. They don’t have chrome bumpers,which really looked good on the old model. I can’t tell you how much I would love to own a classic Beetle again, but they are as hard to find as classic Mustangs.

  5. Hi Lita,
    They were great cars! We saw one last week when we went into the pier to see Mum off on the ship. It was completely original and straight, not even a scratch. Can you imagine what you would pay for one now? I agree the new model, to me, looks like a Noddy car LOL
    Maureen 🙂

Leave a Reply

