Now if people cannot accept me for who I am, I don’t care at all.


I was reading my old journals last night, some going back over 20 years and thought about how dramatically my life has changed.The travel, the excitement of winning  major contracts and the financial benefits that came from it but all I really miss is the travel(and perhaps the duty free shopping!). I was hardly ever home and when I was, I was working up to 20 hours per day and preparing for my next trip away. It is a wonder I survived that time but fortunately I could see that there was more to life than that and giving it all away to commence a new and totally different career was one of the best decisions I ever made.

So often these days I hear young people fretting about their exam results and stressing because they missed out on their preferred university or course  but how many individuals end their working life  in their original career? I began my working life as a hairdresser, not my choice but as I was forced to leave home at 15 I needed a job and was offered an apprenticeship and took it. It ( in addition to 2 other part time jobs waitressing) kept the wolf from the door and enabled me to be independent. Thoughts of returning to study never left my mind but it was not until many years and careers( which included hotel management, self employment and general manager/CEO of a large company) later that I finally returned to study and found my niche. Too often, individuals get hung up about their career/job and don’t realise how much life experience they may gain by working in other fields, until such time as they do find their own particular niche. I saw this frequently when I worked for a large Federal Government Department. Customers would prefer to sit on their derriere  and draw benefits rather than take a job which they considered beneath them. Nowadays, no one has that luxury and I find it abhorrent that they expect the tax payer to provide them with funds yet they are unwilling to do an honest days work in return. Pride comes before  a fall and I am sure we have all experienced that at sometime in our lives, I know I have, time and time again but each time I have picked myself up and learned a valuable lesson about being too precious about what I will and will not do. I used to worry about others opinion of me and saw all my self worth as being at one with the job I was doing. I don’t know why as I have never factored another persons career into my opinion about them. Now if people cannot accept me for who I am, I don’t care at all.

Have a great week end 🙂

6 thoughts on “Now if people cannot accept me for who I am, I don’t care at all.

  1. We’ve both come a long way; haven’t we Maureen?
    Too true about working long, long hours in the pursuit to get ahead, stay ahead, earn recognition and always, more money.

    Deciding to leave the government contractor that I was with was one of the best decisions that I ever made. Granted, if I had been there during the buyout, I would have made a killing, but I chose family first, and don’t regret that at all.

    As for the warm bodies that occupy space in jobs that could go to people who really want to work, don’t even get me started. It’s simply not fair, and I think that in this economy, it’s time that the practice of being in the position the longest should no longer be the sole reason that someone gets to stay. They should be performing as well.

    Lita

  2. Hi Lita,
    Thanks for your comment. Yes, we have come a long way but those experiences have made us who we are today 🙂
    Maureen

  3. Excellent post , You’ve absolutely hit the
    nail on the head, I just don’t understand why people quite get it.
    I’m not for sure how many individuals I’ve talked to about this very
    thing in the past week, and they just don’t understand.

    I like you am employed with the carpet business and it is
    wonderful to see fellows associated this industry with the same mentalities and positions
    , Excellent post! I plan to visit this blog from now on, on a regular basis

  4. Hi John and welcome,
    Thanks for your kind words . Just so you know, I am not connected with your industry in any way. I am a counsellor.
    Best wishes and come back soon.
    Maureen 🙂

Leave a Reply

