Emails and old letters.


I woke this morning, to find an email from a very good friend had arrived overnight. I was elated  to hear from her and read all her news.It was a lovely way to commence the day.I don’t think it will come as any surprise to regular readers here that I delight in receiving emails, whether it be from friends or readers of this site. Before the Internet( back in the dark ages), I used to correspond with several friends and relatives regularly. Our letters were always long, detailed and receiving them was always exciting. Yes, we could have picked up the phone and had a conversation but there is something intimate and personal about letters that seems to get lost over the phone. I have kept many of those letters including letters from D, old boyfriends, my grandmother, employers and little notes and cards written by Prue as a small child.These, together with academic texts and books are the only items I hoard!

The rain has stopped and it is not as cold as yesterday and I don’t mind that at all, even though we are in desperate need of water here due to the on going drought. I think everyone is feeling the cold because we have had no lead into winter. Two weeks ago it was 30 C and I was dressed in summer attire, now I am rugged up in boots and a scarf. LOL

I have plenty to do , so I best get back to it. 🙂

4 thoughts on “Emails and old letters.

  1. Among the many things that I hoard are cards and letters from the past. In fact, each member of the family has a special box in which he or she can place cards, letters, certificates, or any other small mementos that they want to hold on to. I passed the hoarding on to my children and Corey.

    Nothing, absolutely nothing surpasses a handwritten letter. Haven’t received one of those in years. Couldn’t handwrite one either because of my wrist, that plus the fact that I type much faster than I write, and my typing is much easier to read than my handwriting.

    The only thing that I do in hand is the journal that Corey and I keep whenever he is at sea. We write entries to each other and then exchange journals when he gets home.

  2. Hi Lita,
    Yes, I miss those handwritten letters too and the excitement that comes from receiving them!
    Take care
    Maureen 🙂

  3. Totally off subject but thought that you might know: In my “my comments” section of wordpress, I am STILL getting a comment thread from alpha inventions. Any idea on how to remove a comment thread?

  4. Hi Lita,
    No sorry I don’t but I will have a look at the WP site and see if they have the answer and I will also ask Prue. She is the computer nerd of the family. LOL
    Take care
    Maureen 🙂

Leave a Reply

