Catching up after a short break.


Today, I have been busy working on a lengthy and complex report that may lead to an opportunity to advance my career, so everything else has been set aside for today because this requires my full concentration. I am taking a  break, to clear my head, enjoy a coffee, catch up on reading  my favourite blogs and update here, as it has been a couple of days since my last post.

The weekend was quiet but good just the same. On Saturday, I finally got to my hairdresser to have my hair trimmed. It’s short and more casual than last time and will look ok once I have coloured it! We went to a birthday celebration for a few hours, then stayed in for the rest of the night. Yesterday, I contacted my mother early in the day to wish her a happy Mother’s Day but the phone rang out so I left a message on the machine and told her I would call her last night. About an hour later, she returned my call and told me that she and Bill had gone out to pick up Bill’s mother and bring her back to their home for lunch. His mother is well into her 90’s and as sharp as a tack. I can only hope that if I live to be 90+, I will be as bright as she! Mum and I chatted for about an hour and caught up on all the latest family news. Not all of it was good. Two of my late father’s siblings are terminally ill and one in particular my aunt, has been hopitalised and her prognosis is grim. We are going to try and get down there within the next week or so to see her while she still knows us.

Prue called to wish me a good day yesterday, which was lovely and on visiting her blog last night, I saw that she had

posted a sketch of me which she did last night. Ti amo Prue.small

4 thoughts on “Catching up after a short break.

  1. Maureen,
    You are rockin!

    Hope you had a fabulous Mother’s Day,

    Lee

    Prue: Great sketch!

  2. Hi Lee,
    Thanks so much for your kind comments and well wishes. I hope you day is fabulous too!
    Take care
    Maureen 🙂

  3. Maureen,

    I hope that you get a chance to see your relatives soon.

    Glad that you had a nice day. I didn’t do much of anything, which was fine with me. Corey cooked a wonderful dinner, and I had a glass of wine, but that was the highlight.

    Take care.

  4. Hi Lita,
    I am pleased to hear that you had a good day and your wonderful husband cooked you dinner. You are a very fortunate woman Lita and have trained Cory well lol
    Take care
    Maureen 🙂

Leave a Reply

