A great day to stay in bed, nice and warm!


I have just returned from taking Prue for a procedure this morning and have a few minutes so I have seized the opportunity to update.It was absolutely freezing and still dark when I left the house this morning to go and pick up Prue. Although her appointment was early, we were there with time to spare and spent several minutes waiting for the medical centre to open. Once inside we waited again( have you ever thought about how much of your life is spent waiting?) and about 45 minutes later a Dr. appeared and ushered Prue in for the gastroscopy.The procedure was over in a few minutes and I knew Prue was in recovery because I could hear her talking from the waiting area. She talked and talked; must have been the Valium sedation she was given. LOL  Anyway, they kept her under observation for about an hour or so and after a final examination by the Dr. she was discharged. I asked her if she would like to come back here to sleep for a while but she said she would prefer to sleep in her own bed, so we went back to her place via the bakery where she bought a couple of fresh rolls(she had been fasting since early yesterday evening) then it was home to bed for her. A great day to stay in bed, nice and warm!

Tomorrow we are heading down to the funeral but as it is not until the afternoon we do  not have to leave early and drive into the sun. I am going to do some baking later this afternoon to take down for the wake. I know there will not be a shortage of  food but it ‘s a tradition of our family, we all tend to cook up a storm at times like this.The food will not go to waste, of that I am certain.

The day in town yesterday went well but my good humour soon faded when I arrived back at the station to find that someone had blocked me in and I was unable to move my car. To make matters worse, it was a brand new Benz Kompressor, so with about 10cm of room to manoeuvre there was no way I was going to risk trying to get out.My first thought was that someone had caught the train and would not be back until the end of the day, which would have meant walking back here from the station and returning later last night to collect my car. Then I had an idea. Perhaps the car belonged to one of the many real estate agents that have businesses across the road from the station? I went to 4 offices with  no luck, then at the 5th office, the agent told me that the car belonged to one of the retailers down the street.I found the owner, and asked if she would shift her car. She apologised profusely for causing me any inconvenience.We exchanged a few pleasantries , then I finally got to drive my car home.

It’s still cold , so I am going to make a hot drink and start some work.:)

4 thoughts on “A great day to stay in bed, nice and warm!

  1. Dear Maureen:

    I am so sorry to hear about your aunt. My deepest sympathy to you and your family.

    It sounds like you have a lot going on. I hope that everything goes well with Prue’s testing.

    On a lighter note, I am happy to hear that you are baking. I know how much you enjoy it. Baking equals comfort food.

    Again, be sure to take care of yourself. A walk in the cold can be invigorating.

    Keep all of us posted as to how Prue is doing.

    Best,
    Lee Klein

  2. Hello my dear friend,
    Thank you Lee for your condolances. Yes, it seems everything is happening at once. I passed on your regards to Prue and she was most appreciative. She has some results and further investigations have been ordered by her Dr.
    You are right. I do love to cook and find it very therapeutic. I did take food today for the funeral but there was so much food there I think they could have fed the entire town!Catching up with all the relatives was good, even though we were brought together by a bereavement.
    All my best to you and your family. You are regularly in my thoughts and prayers.
    Maureen 🙂

  3. Maureen,

    I hope that Prue’s test results are positive.

    You sound completely exhausted. Something warm to drink and something freshly baked sounds like manna for your soul.

    Hugs, Lita

  4. Hi Lita,
    Yes, I was rather tired and I did try out a few of the baked goodies before I packed them in tins to take to the funeral!
    Prue has received some results which is good but she has to undergo further tests. At least now she is beginning to get some answers.
    Take care
    Maureen 🙂

Leave a Reply

