Celebrating life.


Yesterday, Prue and I set off mid morning to travel down to Morwell for the funeral of my aunt. The service was not until 13:00 allowing  plenty of time to get there and call around to the house to see my cousins( her daughters)  before they left for the church.

Prue had burned a ‘road trip’ CD but for some reason it would not play in the car but between us we had more than enough music  for the trip. It was lovely way for us to spend some time together to chat, act silly and sing a few of our favourite tunes. Initially, Prue was feeling quite anxious about the trip because she had not met many of the relatives or if she had, it was when she was a young child. I have to admit  I too, was feeling slightly anxious about seeing  them all, particularly 2 of my brothers, whom I have not spoken to for years.Not because of me or them but I did not want them to allow our rift to impact on other family members and make it uncomfortable. It was certainly not the time to for personal animosities to rear their ugly head. We were there for one reason and one reason only,to celebrate my aunt’s life and support her family. Thankfully, everyone was civil.

The service was lovely. My uncle, the last remaining sibling of my late father, delivered the eulogy and my aunt’s daughter and her grandchildren each did a reading. My aunt had selected her favourite hymns, which were sung by yet another cousin. He did a sterling job, particularly when he sang Ave Maria. After the burial we all went back to the house and it was great to catch up with everyone.The buffet was incredible! Everyone had brought food and my cousins must have also been preparing for days.

We managed to spend time with each relative there. Prue’s fears soon disappeared and she was in her element , circulating and chatting with the family. She even introduced me to the children and grandchildren of cousins! One of the highlights of yesterday, was spending some time with my sister. We have not seen each other for a long time. We stayed until early evening , then set off for our return to Melbourne.

The trip home was horrendous. It rained so heavily, that I could hardly see a thing on the road. The traffic was also heavy and at times it was quite scary. To make matters worse, on the freeway as we approached the outskirts of Melbourne, we could see flashing lights in the distance and there had been a major accident. Multiple ambulances, fire trucks and police in attendance and the traffic became erratic as they all slowed and lost concentration to check out what was going on! Normally, I am very relaxed driving but I have to admit that I was totally exhausted when we got back last night. We called in here  and picked up D as he wanted to see Prue and come with me to take her home. I was more than happy to hand over the keys to him and almost drifted off to sleep as we drove the short distance to Prue’s house.

Sincere thanks to those who have sent their condolences and support. I am fortunate to have so many kind friends through this site. 🙂

2 thoughts on “Celebrating life.

  1. Maureen,

    I know how taxing funerals can be, even when everyone in attendance is in good relationships. I’m glad that things stayed civil so that there was no drama, just a celebration of a wonderful woman’s life. So glad that Prue could accompany you and keep you charged on the road.

    Lita

  2. Hi Lita,
    I too was glad that everything went without any altercations!
    Prue was really in her element. Flitting around,making conversation and having a great time meeting her family. I think being an only child , she embraced the opportunity to get to know her extended family better.
    Hugs
    Maureen 🙂

Leave a Reply

