Some late night drama in the neighbourhood & The long week end.


I woke up early as usual this morning and after preparing breakfast , I came down to find several new emails from friends though this site. For the first time this week, I have actually had some time to reply! Thank you to all of you 🙂

Now for some local drama.Last night, while I was watching TV and there was a loud crash outside and a car had veered across the road and smashed into a car parked 2 houses away.No one was injured but both cars were badly damaged. How the driver managed to end up on the other side of the road is a mystery, best left to the police, or so I thought. Immediately  I heard the crash, I called 000 and the emergency call centre assured me that a patrol car would attend( the street was completely blocked by the accident) but 1 hour passed, then another ( it was during the second hour that 2 flat bed trucks arrived to remove the damaged vehicles) and still no sign of the police. I realise that there is a shortage of police and in the scale of things, this was a relatively minor incident but given all the publicity and the anti drink/drug driving campaigns, I had hoped that they would have attended to at least breath test the driver of the offending car. If he had not hit the parked car, he would have veered across the footpath and into a house and it could have been a tragic outcome.I bet he is feeling like he is one lucky man today.

I am looking forward to this week end. It is a long week end and the last Public Holiday until November.Although I have not made any plans, I would like to go out for a day because there are so many interesting exhibitions on in Melbourne right now, then possibly have a  family dinner or lunch on Sunday or Monday. Anyway, whatever happens I am going to keep it simple and relaxed.

Have a good week end 🙂

4 thoughts on “Some late night drama in the neighbourhood & The long week end.

  1. Maureen,

    I am shocked that no police arrived on scene. Is your shortage really that pervasive? I had no idea.

    In our neighborhood when I was a kid, a there is a road off the main road that ends in a T onto the main artery in the neighborhood. There is a house directly at the end of that T. One night, a drunken driver kept going and ended up in the living room of that house. Someone was killed.

    Whoever lives there now has steel posts up in the front yard, as well as a brick well in the front, but for the person in your neighborhood to end up on the other side of the road . . . that was either one helluva big invisible dog, or one drink too many.

  2. Is it normal for the police there not to respond at all? Their lack of response would have made front page news here in Madison (pop: 225,000 + suburbs). The cars would have been surrounded by onlookers with camera phones and photos would have been on posted on news websites by morning. And there would have been fines for the cars having been moved before the police had gotten statements. According to today’s paper, my state (Wisconsin) has some of the lightest punishments for drunk driving– but there’s been a big push for stricter laws lately. It doesn’t seem like many drunk drivers feel lucky to survive and learn their lesson, they just feel lucky to not get caught. Drinking and driving has long been a part of our culture here in the state of brewers. When I was in high school, we called it road tripping. Dumb. Dumb.
    Hope your week-end is much more relaxing.

  3. Hi Lita,
    I was also shocked at the non attendance of the police. There is a shortage of police in this State and I suppose they have to allocate members to the most serious reports but I am annoyed that an individual may have escaped unscathed, when the ramifications of his stupidity could have been fatal. If there is something i have no hesitation about that is “dobbing in” drink drivers. I love the invisible dog comment Ha ha.
    Take care
    Maureen 🙂

  4. Hi C.J,
    Obviously, the police did not deem the accident serious enough to attend! I was annoyed because it means that someone may have got away with drunk driving. The incident could well have been much worse, all due to his stupidity. A drunk in charge of a motor vehicle is like a drunk running amok with a loaded gun.
    Great hearing from you.
    Maureen 🙂

Leave a Reply

