Dreams of warmer places and old friends.


I received a brief call last night from my brother Daniel, to inform me that a n old school friend is going to contact me and invite me to a school reunion. It is supposed to be a surprise but Daniel wanted to give me a heads up, just so I know what is coming. It will be a primary school reunion and the guy who is organising it used to live down the end of our street. Apparently, he is using a photo of us together , taken in grade one on the invitation. What joy LOL. I can just imagine how I look- pot cut hair and daggy uniform down past my knees. Hahaha. Primary school was quite harsh. Crowded classes, sometimes 70+ students,cold rooms, strict and at times cruel nuns and memories of attending the funeral of each an every parishioner who was buried on a week day. It’s strange that even now, when I smell incense  I am always reminded of funerals.Corporal punishment was the norm and the local priest had no problem about enlisting students to clean the church and sacristy during school hours. My best friend Bernadette and I seemed to spend more time teaching others to read and assisting the nuns and priest as we were always more advanced than most of the other students and spent very little time in class!There was no such thing as an advanced learning program in those days.It would be good to catch up and see what everyone is doing but not something I feel I need to do. If my friend Bernadette attends , then I would too as we have not seen each other for over 20 years, as she and her husband shifted to rural Queensland and she just disappeared. I miss her, even after all these years.

It is still bitterly cold here and I find myself dreaming of a holiday up north. Dreaming is all it will be for quite some time unfortunately.

Great hearing from friends on My Space and Twitter too 🙂

6 thoughts on “Dreams of warmer places and old friends.

  1. Great news, Maureen. Sounds like you’re as much a fan of cold weather as I am. Have a great weekend.

  2. Hi Dan,
    Perhaps we both need to live in equatorial countries. LOL Lovely hearing from you and you have a great week end too!
    Best wishes
    Maureen

  3. So sorry your suffering in the cold as our spring is struggling to get warm I dread the thought of fall and cold winter winds, right now I am revelling in every moment of time in my garden. I am growing four different tomatoes cherry,beefsteak,yellow and plum yellow, eggplant, squash, cucumber, rosemary, thyme, dill, parsley, cilantro and korean peppers, and green peppers. I am also expanding my rose bush collection and have built a firewood holder behind the shed. Sorry but I feel very alive now, the same feeling I get from New York City!
    soon we will be cold and you’ll get your warm weather.
    Peace
    Glen

  4. Maureen,

    Grade school sounds like a horror. I remember being used to teach other people, which is all well and good, but leaves no options for expanding you own mind unless you do it on your own time.

    Nuns and priests and corporal punishment–sounds like a terrible combination.

    It would nice to see your friend again, though. Stay warm.

    Lita

  5. Hi Glen,
    Thanks for your comments.Oh, your garden sounds magnificent. Having access to your own fresh produce is bliss. It really is. I so miss my large vegetable garden in the back yard, which I lost when we exteneded a built a large pergola for Prue’s 21st party, a few years ago. I have grown vegetables in pots but it is not the same as getting your hands into the soil.
    Don’t apologise for feeling alive, rejoice in it!!!!!
    Take care
    Maureen

  6. Hi Lita,
    Thanks , it would be wonderful to see her again. She is the friend that married an absolute tyrant and I have mentioned her here before.I worry for her.
    I am trying to stay warm!!!
    Maureen:)

Leave a Reply

