Discovering a suspicious lump-just what I don’t need right now.


I am not long home from being out buying bulk supplies of chicken and meat to put in the freezer.It is much more economical and convenient than shopping weekly to do it this way. The meat will last for while as I do not eat any meat or poultry. I am glad to be back because it is getting very overcast and cold outside.

Last night, as I mentioned in my last post, I attended the doctor regarding the migraine and while I was there I thought I would ask him to examine my left breast, as I discovered a lump there some weeks ag0. At first I thought it may have been something hormonal and wasn’t concerned but when it failed to disappear I began worrying as breast cancer is prominent in my family, both maternal and paternal. He checked it out and ordered a mammography and ultrasound. He stressed that I am not to postpone it and it must be done this next week.His tone was serious , so will organise the tests first thing Monday morning.There is no point me worrying because there is nothing I can do, just have the tests and take it from there.

9 thoughts on “Discovering a suspicious lump-just what I don’t need right now.

  1. My mother is the first breast cancer person in our family. I know how you feel, I am on a 6 months recheck because I have very fibrous (sp?) tissues in my breast. It is always scary, so far I am clear. I will pray for you and if you don’t believe in prayers then I will have positive thoughts sent your way.
    Good luck and keep us posted. There is support out there!

  2. Hi Fatgrlnomore,
    Welcome!Thanks you so much for your kind words and thoughts.
    You have a terrific blog which I am going to read in full later tonight.
    Best wishes
    Maureen πŸ™‚

  3. I’m not one for prayer, but I do believe in the great power of collective positive thinking, and I send caring thoughts your way. I know personally there’s really no way to banish worry as you wait for testing and results and each hour seems like a day. I know it is a very scary and very personal time, but I hope knowing there are many, many others who can empathize with and support you brings even a small bit of peace.

  4. Maureen,

    As always I am thinking of you. It might help to reassure you that last spring I found a lump in my right breast. They did a mammogram, and then followed it with a sonogram.

    It turned out to be a cyst, which they later drained because it was so painful. But I know that during the waiting, I was terrified.

    Write me anytime you feel the need to vent or just have someone listen.

    Big hugs,

    Lita

  5. I will also pray for you and it does work, my Mom just had her 1st PET scan and came out OK, I don’t know what they are looking for but they didn’t find it. She also had a lumpectomy over twenty years ago and never had any more problems, so if it comes down to that you’ll be okay. God be with you and Prue.
    Best Wishes
    Glen

  6. Hi Lita,
    I am so glad your lump was nothing more serious. It must have been painful for you.
    I have had a needle aspiration a few years ago which was benign, so I am probably more concerned that I should be.
    You are a gem. thank you .
    Hugs back to you
    Maureen πŸ™‚

  7. Hi Glen,
    What splendid news for your Mum. I am sure your whole family were relieved when the results came through.
    Take care
    Maureen πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

