Some friends cannot handle such intense conversations!


It has been a quiet week end so far. Last night we stayed in and after dinner watched TV. I dozed on and off for a couple of hours, then spent the rest of the night wide awake, thinking about all that has gone on over the past few months.

I am so glad that Prue’s health problems are beginning to be sorted out because she has already endured so much for a young woman. Now, I may be the one with problems which may throw a spanner in the works ! Yes, I have had a lot of illness over the years but for several years now I have been fit and well , with the exception of the occasional migraine. My family and friends always gravitate to me when they are in need of reassurance, someone to listen when they need a friendly ear and or when they need an honest opinion about a particular problem and I am always happy to lend a hand if I can but right now I feel I am in need of that reassurance. I do not want to burden my family with my fears and I am reluctant to share my thoughts and fears with my friends. Past experience has taught me that some friends cannot handle such intense conversations!

Today I am going to catch up on some correspondence, revise some  notes for tomorrow night’s lecture and later go out for a late lunch. I want to keep busy 🙂

5 thoughts on “Some friends cannot handle such intense conversations!

  1. Maureen,

    How horrible it must be to feel that you cannot talk to certain people about this. In your own times of need, you must know that you have people to whom you can turn, no matter what.

    I’m here for you.

    Enormous hugs,
    Lita

  2. I know exactly what you mean, my brother, mother, and father have leaned on me all my life for help and support but are rather distant when it comes to helping me out. Mostly they let me work it out alone, so I stopped trying to share and suffer in silence. I miss the cats for that reason, they gave me more sympathy and support than the people in my life.But I am here for you too Maureen, if only in bits and bytes, it’s all I can offer from the other side of the world.
    Hugs
    Glen

  3. Maureen, Maureen,
    Take care of yourself! Get that lump looked at and perhaps get a second opinion, even a third opinion.
    Also, there are a lot of medications that are out there for migraines. Get on the medications and preventative meds. You should not have to suffer.
    Getting sufficient rest is supposed to prevent migraines. You really need to take better care of youself.

    How about an occasional massage or walk in the brisk cold. Even a pedicure can be relaxing. I drink “Sleepy time tea” which is a herbal tea and all natural. It helps me relax. You should try it after a hot shower.

    Soaking in a hot tub can work wonders also. Turn off the phone and relax! A glass of wine before bed might be what the doctor has ordered.
    Take Care!
    Lee

  4. Hi Lita,
    Thanks so much for that. I mean that from the bottom of my heart.
    I really do not feel I can discuss it with friends and although I love my family dearly and I know they care, I do not want to show them that I am concerned.Prue is always supportive but D cannot handle it when I am ill or potentially ill.
    Hugs and thanks Lita
    Maureen 🙂

  5. HI Lee,
    Thanks as always for your kind words and support. I must check out to see if we have that tea here.
    I think of you often my dear friend
    Take care
    Maureen 🙂

Leave a Reply

