Missed by millimetres!


Lectures last night went very well  but the trip home was almost tragic. It was pouring with rain as I left and I travelled several kilometers, taking great care because of the rain, when myself and another car approached a set of lights and stopped due to a red light. The traffic to our right had the green light and a bus did a right hand turn, during which time, the lights turned green for us to proceed. Cautiously, thank goodness, we both pulled away very gingerly and just at that moment an F100,presumably whose vision had been obscured by the bus, came straight through the red light, almost wiping the other car and me out. It was so close I could have reached out to touch the driver and if we had have collided, his speed would have ensured maximum damage. The driver next to me looked in the same state of shock and disbelief as me as we watched the F100 speed off down the road.It really shook me up and that’s saying something because I do not frighten easily!

8 thoughts on “Missed by millimetres!

  1. Wow! I’m glad your ok! I can’t tell you how many times my gut feelings saved me from getting hurt, it’s a real godsend to have just a little pre-cognition that I get from my mother.
    Still scary stuff.
    Peace
    Glen

  2. I’m so glad that you’re ok. This kind of incident can only become more common as traffic increases. My sister had a near head-on collision this last weekend and a friend in France walked away from a wreck on Sunday.

    Hopefully your traffic lights have cameras like ours so the offender will be caught.

    So glad you are unharmed!

  3. Hi Glen,
    Yes, I was travelling very slowly due to the weather.Sixth sense maybe? Thanks for you kind comments.
    Take care
    Maureen 🙂

  4. Hi Kelvin,
    How fortunate for your sister and friend , that they both escaped unscathed.I hope he will be caught too. You are very thoughtful to be concerned. Catch up soon ok?
    Maureen 🙂

  5. It’s a scary phenomenon known as the invisible car syndrome, as in, my car must have been invisible when you almost smashed into me . . . Some of my cars have been more invisible than others…

  6. Maureen,
    I didn’t mean to make light. Such encounters are horrifying and can affect something as second nature as driving.

    Too many people being too careless too often. Too many innocent people suffering for too many lapses.

    I am so glad to know that you are physically okay, but I also know that emotionally, it can effect you for a long time.

    Take care,
    Lita

  7. Hi Lita,
    I did not think you were making light of it 🙂 It was so close, I think that’s what shook me up so much.
    Hugs
    Maureen.

Leave a Reply

