Dealing with gossips.


If there is one thing that I find completely vexing, it is gossip. It is salacious and can be a character assassination of the absent subject of conversation. I bring this up today because I received a call earlier this morning from a person who launched into such a conversation, with all the gusto of a lion at feeding time. After listening for all of 30 seconds, I stated that I was not in the least bit interested in hearing any more but oh no, that did not slow the verbal outpouring at all. I interrupted the conversation and asked what evidence was there to back up the claims that were flowing thick and fast. The answer, hearsay(what a reliable source!) and besides, what business of this person was it at all? Why is it that some individuals are not happy unless they are causing another grief, through their vicious tongues and lack of emotional intelligence? Needless to say,when I directly challenged the caller and made it clear that they should keep their opinions and defamatory comments to themselves , they abruptly ended the conversation. Good riddance. The day can only get better 🙂

2 thoughts on “Dealing with gossips.

  1. I’m happy to say that I now surround myself with non-gossipers. I think it’s because most of them are so busy trying to work and provide for themselves that they just can’t bother with gossip. Some people have too much time. I even find myself politely telling people to not converse with me about co-worker disagreement, because, frankly, I have my own stress and I don’t want someone else’s words affecting how I judge someone else. Life gets easier when you put up that wall. You can smile more.

    Meghan

  2. Hi Meghan and welcome,
    Thank you for your comments. Yes, I agree with you that life is better without such people and yes, they do have far too much time on their hands.
    best wishes to you and please visit again.
    Maureen 🙂

Leave a Reply

