Eleanor Rigby is alive and well!


The week end was fairly ordinary here. So much so that I woke early yesterday morning and did not feel like facing the world, so I didn’t, not for a few hours anyway. Unusually for me, I returned to sleep and did not get up until almost 15:00.I cannot recall ever having slept that long before.There are a few issues going on here and everything just seemed to be closing  in on me. I can fully appreciate a recent blog by my American friend Lita. Why is it that life seems to be so cruel to those who have only ever given of themselves and worked hard each and every day of their lives?These are the individuals who battle on, keeping their problems to themselves, yet still making themselves available to assist others.Why does it seem that the universe seems to  have turned against them and turned their lives upside down?

I know I am adept to hiding my emotions and personal problems. I should be, I have done it my entire life. I am a closet Eleanor Rigby! Yes,I may write about some of the peripheral things here but seldom of any of the major concerns that may be happening. I admire Lita and her courage to endure and openly write about her life.

Tonight marks the conclusion of one component of my current course. I will have a 2 week break from lectures before recommencing the final module.

7 thoughts on “Eleanor Rigby is alive and well!

  1. Maureen,
    Of course, I love “Eleanor Rigby.” Such a great song.

    How unlike you to sleep for so long. Your mind must be overflowing, my friend. I hope that whatever is bothering you is not too serious.

    I am glad that your classes are going well. I really envy you. I so miss being in the classroom (on either side of the lectern!).

    Big hugs,
    Lita

  2. H Lita,
    It was most unusual for me but I must have needed the sleep.
    The classes are great and an escape from everything else that is going on in my life right now.
    Hugs and take care
    Maureen 🙂

  3. Okay, Maureen, enough!

    First of all, I have to tell you I am on Facebook and Myspace. Myspace has proven — well, quite interesting. I have a friend named Basil who appears to be playing the guitar naked. But it is okay because at the same time, Basil seems to be in pretty good shape! Lol.

    Then just last night, I was invited to attend pole dancing exercise classes out in California. I checked it out on the net and it appears — well, quite difficult, if you will! That is my newest “friend” on myspace who teaches pole dancing exercise classes. Now, if pole dancing is not your thing, she also teaches go-go dancing and some other interesting possibilities.

    I just wish there was some way for myself, Prue, and you, my daughter, Rachel, and Lita and anyone else looking for a — well, crazy time — to all attend these classes together. It would be so much fun. Do you realize how hard we would laugh?

    And as far as Eleanor Rigby, I too am a closet Eleanor Rigby. I am alone 95 per cent of the time. In the song, nobody shows up for Eleanor Rigby’s funeral. I wouldn’t care if nobody showed up for my funeral. What difference would it make.

    Turn all you problems over to a higher power. Then, whatever happens is just how it is supposed to happen.

    Everything will be work out fine, trust me!

    Lee

  4. Hi Lee,
    Now that does sound like an exciting plan. All of us learning how to pole dance. It would be so much fun that I would probably fall down on the floor laughing.
    One day we will all get together and what a day that will be.
    Lots of love and all the best to your family.
    Maureen 🙂

  5. Hi Lita,
    Can you just imagine it? It would be so much fun, that is if I could ever get myself up off the floor, where I would be rolling around in fits of laughter! I think it would be just what we need right now, some belly laughs with good friends.
    Hugs
    Maureen 🙂

  6. Yep. I kind of pictured it the same way: all of us on the floor, laughing our butts off, tears streaming down our eyes. Can’t possibly think of better therapy.

Leave a Reply

