Looking for that light at the end of the tunnel.


After what has been almost a week of fierce storms and incredibly strong winds,today is much calmer. The recent conditions have mirrored what has been going here, in many ways. Prue received news early in the week that she and her housemates will have to vacate their house because the owner is going to shift back to renovate and place the house on the market. I won’t go into the specifics but the stress this is causing is overwhelming. I can’t help thinking how this is going to affect Prue, who is already dealing with serious health issues. I know she is a grown woman but when she hurts so do I.Mothers especially, will understand what I mean.At this point,I feel like selling up here and the family relocating up north, to start a new life! I realise that our situation is not unique and we are fortunate when compared to some , who are doing it very tough but it seems everything has gone pear shaped this year and none of it  is by our own doing.Tomorrow , Prue has asked that I accompany her to look for accommodation, which I am going to do. Although she knows that this is her home and she is always welcome to return, for her this is not an option due to the fragile nature of her relationship with D. It is good now and they are getting on better than they ever have and she doesn’t want to jeopardise  that. All I want for her is to be happy,healthy and settled.

I am also seeking another position but even that is proving to be a task, given the current employment situation. I would like to believe that everything that is happening right now is for a reason and that reason will soon become apparent . They say what doesn’t kill you will only make you stronger….. here’s hoping 🙂

7 thoughts on “Looking for that light at the end of the tunnel.

  1. Here’s sending positive thoughts your way. It sounds like you have weathered many storms during your life and those experiences have made you a stronger person. These are very difficult times for many, many people. I’m not sure about you, but this at least offers me some comfort in knowing I’m not alone in my worries. Also, working with elderly people and learning of the trials they have endured continually reassures me that that the will to survive is strong, ups will follow downs, and that life is so short we should have the courage to take chances and make changes. That last one’s the hardest for me. Woundn’t a crystal ball to forsee the future come in handy right now?

  2. Maureen,
    I am so sad to hear about Prue’s having to relocate. I know that they were very happy to get a new roommate, and that things were looking up.

    When a grown child is ill, she wants to be with her mother (usually), but at the same time, she feels the need to be independent. It’s a very hard position in which to find oneself as it is so conflicting.

    I wish that you could pack up and move to Queensland as you so desire. Part of my wish is selfish, though. I am working on convincing my family that we need to relocate to Queensland in a few years (right . . .). But, you never know.

    You are one of the strongest women that I have ever encountered, but that does not mean that you can be strong all of the time, nor does it mean that you cannot reach a point at which it feels as if it is all too much, especially when so much is out of your control. I think that that’s the issue that bothers the both of us so much: things being completely beyond our control.

    My thoughts, as always, are with you and your family.

    Big hugs and love,

    Lita

  3. I am speechless in a way, I just can’t believe the problems you are having. It seems like eveyone is having a bad time in one way or another, and that when one problem is solved two more take the place of the first. I’d like to throttle the one who’s responsible for all this but I don’t kno who it is!
    Still I pray for that lottery win, for us now the jackpot is over 325 million dollars! I would be on a plane moving you and yours to Queensland in a heartbeat if I won!
    I hope all will be well but with our fall and winter coming too I am bordering on dread for what the economy will bring us this winter. So I wait and watch as our winter approaches your spring will come and maybe a good year without so many tears for you and Prue.
    Peace…Big Sis
    Glen

  4. Hi Lita,
    Wow, can you imagine if we were all up there? What a life we would have LOL. Beach, tropical rainforests, etc, etc. Bliss!
    Hugs
    Maureen 🙂

  5. Hi Little Bro,
    You really are such a lovely man. I think I am over my “down in the mouth and sorry for myself”.When compared to many others, I have no worries at all.
    I hope you are well.
    Hugs
    Maureen 🙂

Leave a Reply

