Drama in the bathroom.


What a day yesterday turned out to be. It began well, with plenty of work being achieved in the morning but the afternoon was filled with drama.D in his haste to get the shower base installed the night before, had inadvertently screwed the plumbing fitting on incorrectly The fitting was beneath the base and in the under floor cavity (which is only about 30cm wide) and as the under floor wooden beams are very close together, there was no way D could go under the house to fix the problem. A neighbour was also here( he has been on and off all week, offering suggestions and although well intentioned, his presence has impeded D’s progress. Instead, he is constantly stopping to chat with the neighbour). As I am quite thin, I was nominated to go down under the house and fix the fittings.I knew if I didn’t there would be another lengthy delay, so I donned some old  sweat pants, shirt and a beanie to cover my hair and worked my way down, through the beams, contorting my body like a snake, then on my back, eased my way several metres under the flooring until I was beneath the shower base and could reach the offending plumbing. It was dark and very confined down there, which I was fine with but I was wary of what else could be lurking down there! D was instructing me what to do and I removed the fitting and he passed another down to me to replace it. I screwed it on , as instructed and tightened it with a wrench and my job task was complete( that’s what we all thought anyway). I came out in the same twisted manner in which I entered and went to remove the cobweb covered clothing I was wearing and wash my face and hands.

D tested the plumbing with a bucket of water poured down the shower recess outlet and  upon checking under the house with a torch , he could see that it was leaking everywhere. It was then D realised that he had neglected to tighten the flexible part  of the fitting before handing it to me to me to screw into place. I did as I was instructed to do and D just overlooked tightening the centre section of the fitting. No one’s fault, just one of those things. I knew this would mean me having to get back into the old duds and go back down but as I was preparing to go and change, the neighbour, who had already said he was claustrophobic, squeezed  down into the  floor cavity  to do the job.One minute he was there and then the next he disappeared down under the house. He manged to get a grip on the fitting and screw it up tightly but then, he  had a massive panic attack and became hysterical  and screamed for us to get him out!!!!

He was in a bad way  and I was concerned he was going to injure himself as he thrashed about trying to get out. I have no idea how he manged to squeeze down between the beams but there was no way known he was going to come out that way. The only option was for D to saw through the beam. Not so easy given that the neighbour was directly beneath it and it allowed D virtually no room to maneuver the saw. Eventually, he managed to cut through the hard wood beam and we helped the neighbour out.After a few minutes the neighbour was laughing about it , but D was fuming, I could see it in his face. I was irritated too but glad that the neighbour was ok. D’s frustration was that he would have to go to the local hardware warehouse and purchase several large bolts to restore the integrity of the beam he cut through, then come back and repair it before he could get on with work.

What a day. Hopefully, today will be drama free. I am beginning to tire of the house looking like a bomb site! I will post some photos soon of various stages of the build.

Have a good week end 🙂

8 thoughts on “Drama in the bathroom.

  1. I’m sure it will be worth all the blood, sweat and tears. I’m looking forward to seeing some photos.

  2. Maureen,
    Look at it this way: If you had left him down there, the smell would have been awful . . .

    I know. I’m a sick puppy, but an individual who has claustrophobia has no business crawling into a space like that.

  3. Hi Dan,
    Yes, I am sure once it is finished it will be worth it and yes, I will post some photos soon.
    Best wishes and take care
    Maureen

  4. Hi Lita,
    I was very annoyed but by the same token glad we got him out. As you wrote, the smell would have been overwhelming after a few days LOL
    Big hugs
    Maureen

Leave a Reply

