Is it trendy to act like a complete arse?


Once again, I find myself perched on a soap box, venting about something that frustrates and infuriates me- bad manners ! What is it about individuals or collectively as a community, that is so difficult about being well-mannered and considerate of others? As an avid “people watcher” , I see evidence of poor manners everywhere I go, whether it is to the local supermarket, a lecture,when submitting a job application, public transport or dining out.Is it becoming trendy to act like a complete arse? How difficult is it to say thank you when someone opens a door for you or allows you to go first at a check out? Additionally, are we all so time poor that we cannot respond to phone calls, emails, letters or job applications or write a simple note to thank another for their company, a gift, invitation,time or effort?Is life so hectic that we need to have mobile phones turned on all the time and take calls during meals, lectures or as I have experienced, individuals taking calls during a funeral service!

Another example is having to ask for something to be returned, be it a book, money or a CD. Without doubt anything to do with money can become quite embarrassing and I have learned that it is best not to make loans to anyone other than immediate family.

Driving brings out the worst in some individuals who believe the roads and highways are for their exclusive use. They fail to acknowledge( by a simple wave) another driver’s acts of courtesy and never show any manners at all, by allowing another car to go first or merge into the traffic.

Common courtesy and manners never go out of fashion 🙂

10 thoughts on “Is it trendy to act like a complete arse?

  1. Maureen,
    I completely agree. The general public, be they in Australia, the US, the UK, or wherever, is composed primarily of boors. Manners seem to have gone by the wayside. Sometimes, I just want to slap people up the side of their head and scream, “Were you raised in a barn?”

    Lita

  2. I once got chastised for entering a door in a public restaurant once. It was an awkward double door situation. I thought I could hold onto the outer door and open the inner as well but it was out of reach. I lost my grip on the outer attempting to reach the inner, hoping to recapture the outer but was unsuccessful.
    I was verbally accosted by a group of ladies just inside for not being considerate to the ladies and children trying to enter.
    I had no time to respond to their onslaught for it was like a tidal wave. I tried to no avail.
    It is funny how time and events change history and what is considered to be good manners. I am old enough to remember that on certain occasions it was proper for men to enter first into a room or home while the lady waited at the door. It was the gentleman’s way to light lights or candles and check the premises for dastardly charactors before allowing the lady to enter.
    Every time I try to be gentlemanly in manner and deeds, it is generally awkward, because ladies too do not have proper etiquette training as well. Example, positioning herself so that the gentleman may open the door without being an obstruction or allowing for the proper flow of traffic. After 34 and 1/2 years of doing this for my wife she still gets in the way, making it a Stan Laurel & Oliver Hardy moment.
    She has finally gotten down the seating proeedure in restaurants which gets me many disgruntled harumpfs from all the men who have just had the event pointed out to them by their spouse.
    I agree with you that manners is truely a lost art for all these days. Maybe because we are never taught them by family, friends, schools and most of all by example from those we admire and those in leadership positions.

  3. One more thought on manners. I will never stop treating a lady with respectful manners no matter what modern gothic etiquette may say. I consider it earth quake insurance.
    For if I did not act a certain way to a lady, I am sure my mother would be rolling over in her grave causing an eight point nine reaction!

  4. Hi Richard,
    Your mother was obviously a lady and she has instilled in you something that money cannot buy- good manners and common courtesy!
    Bravo.
    Maureen 🙂

  5. Hi Richard,
    Call me old fashioned but there is nothing more attractive than a gentleman!
    You are a rare breed.
    Regards
    Maureen 🙂

  6. I do say it to my sons and their friends when they act as if cutlery and napkins are optional when eating. Also when I do not hear hands being washed in the bathroom.

    They hate it. Tee hee.

  7. Hi Lita,
    I know exactly what you mean. When Prue was younger and had friends here for meals, I was forever being shocked at their lack of manners. Some were unable to use a knife and fork properly!
    Your sense of humour always brings a smile to my face.
    Maureen 🙂

Leave a Reply

