The inane comments of bitter individuals – who needs them?


It was a productive week end here and last night , both D and I were feeling slightly worse for wear. There is something about warm , sunny days that makes you want to go mad doing things around the house and yard.Our elation at getting the floor tiles laid and all the outside work done, was short lived when a neighbour( yes, that annoying neighbour who makes a nuisance of himself, that is when he is not getting trapped under houses LOL) came down to check out the day’s progress on the bathroom. He proceeded to bag everything that D had done, the gap between the tiles, the tile size, the layout etc, etc.( I must mention here that this individual would have to be the most negative and bitter person I have ever met, a complete contrast to D and me) and as he continued his critical analysis  I had to bite my tongue but in the end it all got too much and I said I thought it was a marvellous job and D and I picked the tiles WE wanted, the gap size WE believe enhanced the overall appearance  and the layout was OUR choice. it is OUR bathroom and WE are the ones that have to live with it and really, I did not care less what he thought!

I was discussing this with Prue last night and I mentioned to her that more often now, I am coming into contact with individuals who are just so bitter.What happened to enjoying what you have, right now  and sharing others’ joy and achievements? Being pleasant, hopeful, complimentary or diplomatic?  Is it just that I am getting older and more cynical or have taken off the rose-coloured glasses? Hmm, something to ponder.

6 thoughts on “The inane comments of bitter individuals – who needs them?

  1. Maureen,
    I told you that you should have left him stuck under the house. The smell would have gone away eventually.

    He’s probably envious moreo than anything as he could never have done the things that D did, all of the craftsmanship and know-how. What a buffoon. What a maroon. Who needs him, anyway?

    Good for you for speaking up and not standing by idly while someone trashes your good work. Proud of you!

    Hugs,
    Lita

  2. Maureen
    Poietes comment about leaving him under the house …that was just funny I don’t care who you are!
    I think you did the right thing by telling him off and actually this series of posts has been really very interesting. Like the home improvement shows we have over here for do-it-yourselfers and the trials and tribulations they go through has me wishing I could have watched your renovation on TV over here. I would have especially liked the color commentary when that man got stuck and your brilliant retort to his criticism!
    Congrats
    Glen

  3. Hi Lita,
    You crack me up, you really do. LOL He is a pain and I dread it when I see him coming down the street. Unkind? Hmm, probably but he irritates the heck out of me!
    Hugs
    Maureen 🙂

  4. Hi Glen,
    Thanks for your comments. Wouldn’t it make a great reality show? A cross between “This Old House” and “The Osbournes” Hahaha
    Best wishes
    Maureen 🙂

Leave a Reply

