A brief respite from shifting.


I thought I would take a few minutes for short update while I am waiting for Prue and her housemate to arrive with her belongings.Today is shifting day and unfortunately for Prue, she is feeling very poorly but she is carrying on regardless, wanting to get the move finished. It was arranged that I would pick Prue and one of her housemates up this morning and drive them to a car rental place about 45 minutes away to collect a ute ( truck) for shifting . Prue was not well enough to come, so the house mate and I made the trip. Prue asked if I would put up the bond for the ute( refundable when it is returned tomorrow) which I agreed to but when we got there and it was time to pay, my ATM card was missing. This sick feeling went through me. I have never misplaced it before and I was having visions of someone using it to clean out the account. Fortunately, I thought of the last place I used it, which was earlier this morning when I went to the local pharmacy to pick up some medication for Prue.In the meantime, I paid the bond by using an unused credit card, which I have for absolute emergencies. Can me or my family ever do anything without an element of drama? LOL.En route back here I went to the pharmacy, picked up the card , then stopped at Prue’s place to pick up another load. I have brought 2 full car loads of boxes and assorted bags etc back here and I am staring at them stacked neatly in the corner of the computer room . We will find a more permanent spot for them later because the priority right now is to just get everything shifted.

I am going to make a coffee and enjoy the last of my brief respite 🙂

2 thoughts on “A brief respite from shifting.

  1. Maureen,
    Nothing is every easy, is it? Sorry to hear Prue is feeling so poorly again, but soon, soon things will be better.

    Glad you knew exactly where your card was. I’ve done that one before as well. Horrible, sinking feeling while you try to remember where…

    Hugs,
    Lita

  2. Hi Lita,
    Thanks for your kind words about Prue. Yes, her surgery is not far away now.
    I did feel sick when I realised the card was missing. It has never happened before. You must have felt the same way.
    Hugs
    Maureen 🙂

Leave a Reply

